Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023

TNPL 2022: Match 13 Dindigul Dragons vs Siechem Madurai Panthers- Match Report

Nellai Royal Kings continue to sit at the top of the table with eight points.

TNPL 2022

With sights set on the top of the table, second and third-placed teams in the Tamil Nadu Premier League clashed on July 7th. Siechem Madurai Panthers beat Dindigul Dragons to lay the claim as the second-best team in match 13th of the TNPL 2022.

Let’s look at the match report for the same.

Match 13: Dindigul Dragons vs Siechem Madurai Panthers

Before the match, both SMP and DD were equal with four points and sat in second and third in the TNPL 2022 league table. SMP had however played one game less (3) than DD and looked like the better team going into this game.

The match started with SMP winning the toss and electing to bowl first. Coming on to bat first, the DD team lost their first wicket on the fourth ball of the innings when opener K Vishal Vaidhya gave an easy catch to R Eswaran off of S Sandhu’s ball. Captain Hari Nishaanth (24 off 26) and K Mani Bharathi (18 off 22) tried to steady the innings were removed in quick successions at the team score of 51 and 52. RS Mokit Hariharan was the top scorer for the team with a knock of 43* off of 31 deliveries. None of the other batters however contributed significantly to the team’s total and in the end, SMP could only put 122/9 on the board.

Sunny Sandhu with a bowling figure of 4-11-3 was the pick for SMP’s bowlers. Varun Chakarvarthy with 4-14-2 was also instrumental in restricting the DD team to a low score.

The SMP team started their batting innings on a positive note with both openers Arun Karthik (41 off 31) and Vignesh Iyer (11 off 11) doing well before the first wicket fell. The next batter B Anirudh Sita Ram with 51* off of 34 was able to take his team across the finish line in just 15.3 overs. On the way to his half-century, the SMP batter hit nine boundaries at a strike rate of 150.

With this win, the SMP team have now gathered six points in four matches and moved to second whereas the DD team stays in third with four points in their five matches in TNPL 2022.

Dindigul Dragons: 122/9

RS Mokit Hariharan: 43(31), Hari Nishaanth: 24(26)

M Silambarasan: 4-24-1, Lakshminarayana Vignesh: 3-23-1

Siechem Madurai Panthers: 126/3

B Anirudh Sita Ram: 51(34), Arun Karthik: 41(31)

Sunny Sandhu: 4-11-3, Varun Chakarvarthy: 4-14-2


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID