Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023

‘Back to back titles, kya baat’ – Fans react as Lyca Kovai Kings win their second consecutive TNPL title after massive victory over Nellai Royal Kings

Lyca Kovai Kings won TNPL 2023 by 104 runs.

Lyca Kovai Kings

The Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2023 final commenced on Thursday with Lyca Kovai Kings and Nellai Royal Kings squaring off for the title of tournament winners. Shahrukh Khan, the captain of Lyca, chose to bat first after winning the toss for the crucial match.

Lyca Kovai King’s start wasn’t the best since they lost their opening batter, S Sujay, for 7 during the second over alone. B. Sachin stepped up to the third position but could only manage a score of 12 after losing the wicket to Sandeep Warrier. After 3.5 overs, the score was 31/2 when U Mukilesh entered the crease and joined Suresh Kumar for a crucial 71-run partnership off 48 balls.

Warrier, who collected his second scalp of the game, ended their partnership. Atheeq Ur Rahmanand Mukilesh who both scored valuable fifties provided solid support for each other at the other end, helping the pair add 74 runs in just 35 balls. Ram Arvindh had an outstanding cameo that helped Lyca reach 205/5 in the allocated 20 overs. The only bowler for Nellai Royal Kings who had a decent game was Sandeep Warrier who took 2/39 inside four overs.

Nellai Royal Kings got off to a disappointing start as opener Sri Neranjan was out for a three-ball duck during the first over itself. They went on to lose star batter Guruswamy Ajitesh during the second over, which made matters worse for them. Arun Karthik, the captain, opted to engage the opponent after receiving two early blows in order to put them under pressure.

However, Shahrukh Khan cut off Arun’s fleeting cameo of 27 in the fifth over. After he was dismissed, Nellai’s entire batting order collapsed, and after 9.2 overs, they were left gazing down an uphill battle at 64/7. M. Poiyamozhi gave it his all but was unable to save his side from suffering a humiliating defeat. Nellai got effectively all-out for a mere 101, giving Lyca a commanding 104-run victory. 

As a result, after sharing the 2022 edition’s victory, they won the TNPL championship for the second time in a row. The player of the Match was Jhatavedh Subramanyan for his outstanding 4/21 in four overs. 

Fans react as Lyca Kovai Kings win their second consecutive TNPL title after massive victory over Nellai Royal Kings:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID