Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023

TNPL 2022: Match 7 & 8- Match Report

Baba Aparajith and Sanjay Yadav took the NRK team to a very comfortable win at the end

TNPL 2022

The Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 has been going on at full flow. Filling the huge void left by the conclusion of the Indian T20 League, the TNPL has slotted right in to provide entertaining cricket to the Indian fans.

Thursday saw two games in the TNPL. Let’s look at the match report of those two games.

Match 7: Dindigul Dragons vs Nellai Royal Kings

In the seventh match of TNPL 2022, the lower-placed Dindigul team clashed with the table-toppers Nellai Royal Kings. After winning the toss, the NRK elected to field and asked the Dindigul team to bat first. Both openers K Vishal Vaidhya (45 off of 21) and Hari Nishaanth (37 off of 27). The rest of the batters however were not able to contribute much to the team’s total and DD could only manage 130/5 in a rain-affected 12 overs game.

Coming onto chase what seemed like a small target, the NRK lost a very early wicket at just 12 runs. Baba Aparajith (59* off of 30) and Sanjay Yadav (55* off 19) took the NRK team to a very comfortable win at the end.

DD: 130/5
K Vishal Vaidhya: 45(21), Hari Nishaanth: 37(27)
Lakshminarayanan Vignesh: 2-11-1, Karaparambil Monish: 2-32-1
NRK: 133/2
Baba Aparajith: 59(30), Sanjay Yadav: 55(19)
Sri Neranjan R: 3-32-3, V Athisayaraj Davidson: 3-25-1

Match 8: Lyca Kovai Kings vs Siechem Madurai Panthers

The last game of the TNPL before a three-day breather pit LKK and SMP against each other. SMP won the toss and elected to field first against the LKK. Coming onto bat first, the LKK team lost their first wicket at zero with Ganga Sridhar Raju going off at the third ball itself. Their next two batters also got out an individual score of zero and nine. It was then that U Mukilesh (50 off of 38) and J Suresh Kumar (46 off of 22) had a good partnership and moved the team’s score forward. With the help of these two batters, LKK was able to reach 151/10.

The SMP team got off to a poor start as well, losing their first and second wickets at the second and fourth ball of the first over. A great partnership between Arun Karthik (38 off of 33) and N Sarangarajan Chaturved (75 off of 45) steadied SMP’s innings. Their next batters however also fell prey to LKK’s bowling with just Jagatheesan Kousik (27 off of 21) remaining at the end.

The SMP team needed five runs in the last over when Varun Chakravarthy got out on the very first ball intensifying the game even more. It was then Kousik who took the game home with a four on the fifth ball and won the game.

The league would now take a breather of three days before returning with the 9th game on 4 July 2022.

LKK: 151/10
U Mukilesh: 50(38), J Suresh Kumar: 46(22)
Shahrukh Khan: 2.5-14-4, Abhishek Tanwar: 4-22-2
SMP: 154/8
N Sarangarajan Chaturved: 75(45), Arun Karthik: 38(33)
Ragupathy Silambarasan: 4-28-3, Sunny Sandhu: 4-13-2


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID