Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Records & Stats

Top 3 Indian cricketers who led team India in all formats

Three Indian cricketers to have led across three formats

Indian Cricket Captaincy is a huge task and the one who leads the nation is considered a national treasure. Over a period of time, Indian cricket has seen some legendary names captain the side. The likes of Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, and Sourav Ganguly come to mind.

Ever since the inception of the T20I format, many teams have opted for the split captaincy. India though, has opted to go in with the tried and tested same skipper policy for all three formats.

In this article, we cast a closer look at the top three players to Captain India in all three formats.

MS Dhoni –

MS Dhoni (Source-Twitter)

If we speak about Indian captaincy and don’t take the name of Mahendra Singh Dhoni it would be injustice. The man from Ranchi first became the skipper of the T20I side in 2007. In his very first assignment, MS Dhoni led the side to the 2007 T20 World Cup title win.

Later in 2007, MS Dhoni was handed the ODI captaincy after Rahul Dravid stepped down. Forming his own core unit, MS Dhoni led the side to the ODI World Cup triumph in 2011. Test Captaincy came in 2008 after Anil Kumble retired from international cricket. In just a year, India was the top team in Test cricket for the very first time.

Page 1 / 3
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Records & Stats


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID