Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

WATCH: On this day, India breached Gabba fortress to win historic Test against Australia in 2021

India defeated Australia in Gabba Test and managed to clinch successive Test series victories on Australian soil.

India defeat Australia at Gabba Test

On January 19, 2021, India achieved a historic victory by beating Australia in a Test match at the Gabba in Brisbane for the first time. With the series tied at 1-1, the visiting team faced a challenging situation, given Australia’s historical dominance at the Brisbane venue. India encountered several injury issues and the absence of Virat Kohli as their captain before the final Test of the series. Initially, it appeared that Australia would easily overcome India without much effort.

Nevertheless, under the leadership of Ajinkya Rahane, the visitors defied expectations and emerged victorious with a three-wicket win. The pivotal moment in the historic Test match came on Day 5, and Rishabh Pant’s exceptional performance played a crucial role in securing the triumph. Choosing to bat first, Australia posted a total of 369 in 115.2 overs, driven by Marnus Labuschagne’s impressive innings of 108. Tim Paine contributed with a half-century, scoring 50, while Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, and Cameron Green added 36, 45, and 47 runs respectively.

In addition to this, T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar each took three wickets for India. After being dismissed for 336 in 111.4 overs, India conceded a narrow but crucial lead of 33 runs. Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur played pivotal roles, contributing 62 and 67 runs, respectively, to guide India’s recovery from a challenging situation at 186 for six. The duo formed a substantial partnership of 123 runs for the seventh wicket, rescuing their team. Josh Hazlewood emerged as the standout Australian bowler, claiming five wickets for 57 runs in 24.4 overs.

Watch the video here;

India chased down 328 runs to win the series

Australia posted a total of 294 runs in their second innings, establishing a target of 328 for India to pursue. Steve Smith was the highest run-scorer for the Australians, amassing 55. In the bowling department, Mohammed Siraj claimed five wickets, while Thakur secured four scalps. In response, India successfully chased down the target in 97 overs, creating history. Although they lost the early wicket of Rohit Sharma during the run-chase, Shubman Gill played a crucial role in stabilizing the innings with a score of 91. Gill’s innings included eight fours and two sixes.

Cheteshwar Pujara played a patient inning, scoring 56 runs off 211 balls to anchor one end. Subsequently, Rishabh Pant showcased his class, steering India to victory in the closely contested match. Pant, a left-hander, remained unbeaten with a score of 89 runs off 138 balls as India crossed the finish line during the third and final session of the fifth day’s play. Three years later, this victory still stands as one of India’s greatest achievements. Unlike other teams from the subcontinent that have struggled to secure Test wins in Australia, India managed to clinch successive Test series victories on Australian soil.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID