Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Records & Stats

5 most consecutive test series wins at home

Check out the five most consecutive test series wins at home

"Consecutive Test Series Wins"

India showcased their supremacy in the fourth Test of the five-match series against England at the Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium in Ranchi. With this victory, they clinched their third consecutive Test win, securing the series 3-1 with one match remaining. This historic series triumph marked a significant milestone for Rohit Sharma and the Indian team, extending their remarkable 11-year winning streak. Despite England’s Bazball technique, they couldn’t overcome this formidable record.

However, this is not the first time a streak like this on home soil has been established. During the reigns of Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting, Australia enjoyed dominance, but in the past decade, India surpassed them. Under Virat Kohli’s captaincy, India held the top spot for a record 42 consecutive months. Recently, both India and Australia have shown consistently strong performances, particularly in home conditions. Let us look at various other winning streaks in cricket that have made their mark in the rich cricketing history;

5. 7 series win by South Africa (May 2009- May 2012)

South Africa’s cricket team had achieved a notable feat by winning their seventh consecutive Test series. This accomplishment reflects their sustained excellence and dominance in the longer format of the game. Over a period of time, South Africa under the captaincy of Graeme Smith, the South African team demonstrated remarkable consistency and skill, enabling them to emerge victorious in a series of challenging Test matches against various opponents.

7 series win by South Africa

7 series win by South Africa (Source: Twitter)

Also Read; Top 5 batters to hit most sixes in a Test Series

4. 7 series win by West Indies (March 1998- November 2001)

7 series win by West Indies

7 series win by West Indies (Source: Twitter)

From March 1998 to November 2001, the West Indies cricket team achieved an impressive feat by securing victory in seven consecutive Test series. This remarkable run showcased their dominance and prowess on the international stage during that period. Led by talented players such as Brian Lara, Curtly Ambrose, and Courtney Walsh, the West Indies displayed resilience and skill to overcome formidable opponents. Their consistent success in Test cricket underscored the team’s depth, determination, and ability to perform at a consistently high level over an extended period, cementing their legacy as one of cricket’s most formidable teams.

3. 8 series win by West Indies (March 1976- February 1986)

8 series win by West Indies

8 series win by West Indies (Source: Twitter)

From March 1976 to February 1986, the West Indies cricket team embarked on an unparalleled run of success, securing victory in eight consecutive Test series. This remarkable achievement solidified their status as a cricketing powerhouse during that era. Led by iconic figures like Clive Lloyd and Vivian Richards, the West Indies dominated opponents with their aggressive batting and fearsome pace bowling attack. Their series of victories showcased their unrivaled talent, teamwork, and determination to excel on the international stage. This remarkable decade-long streak remains a testament to the West Indies’ enduring legacy as one of cricket’s most formidable teams.

2. 10 series wins by Australia (July 2004- November 2008)

10 series wins by Australia

10 series wins by Australia (Source: Twitter)

Under Ricky Ponting’s captaincy, Australia established themselves as a dominant force in Test cricket, winning 23 out of 27 matches between 2006 and 2007. Ponting, along with a formidable batting lineup including Matthew Hayden and Michael Hussey, led Australia to victories against top teams like England, India, and South Africa. Brett Lee emerged as the leading wicket-taker, supported by Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath. The highlight of Ponting’s tenure was the Ashes whitewash of England in 2006/07. Overall, Ponting’s leadership, combined with exceptional performances from key players, solidified Australia’s reputation as a cricketing powerhouse during that era.

10 series wins by Australia (November 1994- November 2000)

10 series wins by Australia

10 series wins by Australia (Source: Twitter)

During this period, the Australian Test team participated in 37 matches, securing 27 wins, five draws, and five losses, boasting a win rate of approximately 73%. Mark Taylor, Steve Waugh, and Adam Gilchrist took turns leading the team. Mark Waugh emerged as the top run-scorer with 2784 runs at an average of 49, while Steve Waugh boasted the highest average, amassing 2503 runs at 56. Other significant contributors included Michael Slater, Mark Taylor, Justin Langer, and Ricky Ponting. Glenn McGrath claimed 152 wickets with an impressive average of 20.36, supported by Shane Warne, Stuart MacGill, Damien Fleming, and Craig McDermott. Notably, Australia secured victories in the two Ashes series, among other notable wins against Pakistan, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and New Zealand.

1. 17 series wins by India (February 2013- Present)

India Cricket Team

India Cricket Team (Source: Twitter)

India’s unparalleled dominance in home Tests over the past eight years is evident. Out of their last 40 home Test matches, the Indian team has secured victory in 32, with six draws and only two losses. Captain Virat Kohli has played a significant role, leading the team to 24 wins out of 31 matches under his leadership. In Kohli’s absence, Ajinkya Rahane has steered the team to two wins and a draw. Currently, Rohit Sharma has been leading the team well against top sides like Australia and England. In addition, by winning the Ranchi Test, the fourth Test of the series India have extended their total consecutive home series wins to 17.

Prior to Rohit and Kohli, MS Dhoni guided India to six consecutive wins. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been standout performers with the bat, supported by Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay. India’s bowling lineup is formidable, boasting world-class spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, while Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Jasprit Bumrah provide firepower in the fast bowling department. Emerging talents like Axar Patel and Mohammad Siraj have also made significant contributions. Memorable series victories have been achieved against Australia (4-0 in 2013 and 2-1 in 2017), as well as against England, South Africa, New Zealand, Bangladesh, and West Indies, each secured twice during this period.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Records & Stats


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID