Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Big Bash League 2023-24

BBL 2023-24 Full List of Award Winners, Records & Season Stats Revealed

Two months of intense battle finally comes to an end with Brisbane Heat (HEA) claiming their second title in the BBL history

BBL 2024: List of Winners

Two months of intense battle finally came to an end with Brisbane Heat (HEA) claiming their second title in the Big Bash League (BBL) history. Heat reclaimed the coveted prize after an 11-year wait since winning it for the first time in the year 2012-13 as they defeated the three-time champions, Sydney Sixers (SIX) by 54 runs. It was Josh Brown along with Matt Renshaw who firstly powered HEA to a total of 166 runs and then a brilliant bowling performance from Spencer Johnson (4/26) helped HEA to seal their second BBL title win.

After finishing the league stage on top spot, HEA suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of SIX in the qualifiers but they bounced back brilliantly to win the title. Apart from Johnson, Xavier Bartlett (2/6), and Mitchell Swepson (2/19) also took wickets for the Heat. Josh Philippe (23) and Moises Henriques (25) made notable contributions with the bat for the Sixers.

Earlier, after opting to bat first, Brown, fresh from the joint second-fastest hundred, scored 53 off 38 balls. Skipper Nathan McSweeney (33), and Matt Renshaw (40) also played crucial innings, guiding Brisbane Heat to 166/8 in 20 overs. Sean Abbott (4 for 32) stood out as the best bowler for Sydney Sixers, with Steve O’Keefe and Ben Dwarshuis claiming one wicket each, being the only other wickets to fall in the Heat’s innings.

This marked the first final meeting between the two teams in 13 seasons. Brisbane Heat secured their second successive final, having fallen short to Perth Scorchers in 2023. However, Sydney Sixers missed out on reducing the deficit to one for the most BBL title wins, a record still held by Perth Scorchers with five title triumphs.

BBL 2024: List of Winners

Champions: Brisbane Heat

Runners-up: Sydney Sixers

Player of the Match (FINAL): Spencer Johnson (Brisbane Heat) – 4 for 26 in 4 overs

Player of the Tournament: (Announced During Cricket Australia awards on January 31)

BKT Golden Bat Award: Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers)

BKT Golden Arm Award: Xavier Bartlett (Brisbane Heat)

Check out our BBL 13 Team of the Tournament:

Matt Short (C) (Adelaide Strikers)

Chris Lynn (Adelaide Strikers)

Jake Fraser-McGurk (Melbourne Renegades)

Josh Inglis (WK) (Perth Scorchers)

Aaron Hardie (Perth Scorchers)

Jamie Overton (Adelaide Strikers)

Paul Walter (Brisbane Heat)

Xavier Bartlett (Brisbane Heat)

Matthew Kuhnemann (Brisbane Heat)

Lance Morris (Perth Scorchers)

Cameron Boyce (Adelaide Strikers

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Big Bash League 2023-24


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID