Connect with us

Twitter Reactions

‘What a rise Siraj bro’ – Fans react as Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj feature in ODI XI of the year 2022

Two Indians featured in the ODI XI of the year 2022

'What a rise Siraj bro' - Fans react as Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj feature in World Body's ODI XI of the year 2022

The Cricket’s governing body announced the T20I team of the year on January 23, Monday and on, Tuesday, the World Body announced the ODI team of the year featuring only two Indians out of all. To add more, Babar Azam was announced as the captain of the ODI team and the team featured batter Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj. 

With Babar and Australia’s Travis Head as the openers, the star West Indies batter Shai Hope was roped in at Number 3 on the back of his stupendous run in the 50-over format. For the unversed, the right-handed batter from the Caribbean gathered 709 runs with three hundreds and two fifties to his name. 

At Number 4, Indian star Iyer was brought in, given the right-handed batter was the only player to shine in the format in what was a dismal year for the Men in Blue. Although the Indian superstar Virat Kohli scored a century in the year, his stats were not powerful enough to get him into the ODI XI of the year. 

Mohammed Siraj makes a cut into the squad after an excellent 2022

Siraj, the star Indian pacer, managed to make a cut to the ODI XI of the year after enjoying a purple patch, which, he is carrying on in the ongoing series against New Zealand as well. With New Zealand’s Tom Latham and Zimbabwean star Sikandar Raza at Number 6, one could understand that it would make up for a strong middle-order. 

At Number 7 was Bangladeshi star Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Caribbean Alzarri Joseph at 8, followed by Siraj at 9. At Number 10 and 11, it was New Zealand’s Trent Boult and the Kangaroo ace spinner Adam Zampa who made a cut. 

ODI XI for 2022: Babar Azam (C), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (WK), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult and Adam Zampa. 

Here’s how fans have reacted to Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj making it to the ODI XI of the year 2022: 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Twitter Reactions