Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID


South Africa announce squad for India T20Is, explosive Mumbai batter included

South Africa has gone with a full-strength squad for the India tour

South Africa Cricket Team
South Africa Cricket Team (Image Credit : Twitter)

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced their squad for the tour of India in June this year. The series will see the  the Proteas play a five-match T20I series against the hosts. Notably, this will be South Africa’s first T20I series since the 20-20 World Cup last year in the United Arab Emirates. The selection committee has gone with a lot of familiar names.

The likes of Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, and Marco Jansen, who are currently playing for different teams in the ongoing Indian T20 League 2022 have been included in the squad. Also, the likes of Wayne Parnell and Tristan Stubbs have found their way into the squad. Parnell last played in the shortest format for Proteas in 2017.

Along with him, Tristan Stubbs, who was signed by the Mumbai franchise after his performances for South Africa A, has got his maiden call up for the senior national team. CSA Convener of selectors, Victor Mpitsang said that the experience of playing the Indian T20 League will be a massive boost for the Proteas.

“This is the Proteas like we have not seen them in a long time. The injection of the IPL players means that we will have a team that’s ready to fire on all cylinders immediately and has vast experience of the conditions that we will be playing in,” said CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang, in an official statement.

“Tristan Stubbs is an exciting prospect and we’re keen to see what he’s made of and we are looking forward to the return of the experience of Reeza (Hendricks), Klaasie (Heinrich Klaasen) and Wayne Parnell to join the likes of Temba (Bavuma), Tabraiz (Shamsi) and Keshav (Maharaj),” he added. The T20 World Cup 2022 is just months away and a series win against India will be a great confidence boost for the South Africa team.

South Africa’s T20I squad for India series: Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID