Connect with us

T20 World Cup 2022

Nitish Rana posts a cryptic Tweet just a few days after India’s squad announcement for 20-20 World Cup

Nitish Rana

Cricketer Nitish Rana posted a cryptic Tweet on Friday after he was left out from the India A squad for the upcoming three-match one-day series against New Zealand “A” to be played in Chennai. The Indian Cricket Board announced the team on Friday which includes youngsters like Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Rajat Patidhar and others.

Rana took to Twitter and posted, “PATIENCE is POWER ????? #believe” in the afternoon on Friday.

The Delhi batter scored 361 runs in 14 matches at a tremendous strike rate of 143.8 in the Indian T20 League 2022. He was the second-highest run scorer for his team after skipper Shreyas Iyer, who had 401 runs to his name. Rana has been in sublime form in the league, scoring 350+ runs in the last three editions of the cash-rich league. Overall, he has scored 2181 runs in 91 matches, which includes 15 half-centuries.

The 28-year-old made his debut for India during the white-ball tour of Sri Lanka in July 2021. He departed for just seven runs when he batted at No. 7 in the third ODI. His torrid time continued in the two T20Is, scoring 15 runs while batting at No.5. He was never given another chance at the international level after that.

Earlier in the year, the Southpaw had expressed his disappointment on missing out on the Indian squad for the home T20I series against South Africa in June. Rana had Tweeted, “Things will change soon.” The southpaw has been an integral part of the Kolkata franchise in the Indian T20 league for the past few seasons.

India A squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini and Raj Angad Bawa.

Samson and Co. will play their opening match against New Zealand A at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

Full schedule of New Zealand A tour of India:

1st ODI – 22nd September

2nd ODI – 25th September

3rd ODI – 27th September

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in T20 World Cup 2022