Connect with us

Cricket News

Sri Lanka announces squad for the 20-20 World Cup in Australia, Dushmantha Chameera’s availability is subject to fitness

Most of the players from the Asia Cup 2022 feature in the World Cup squad.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Sri Lanka Cricket Team (Source: Twitter)

Sri Lanka has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming 20-20 World Cup in Australia. There are a couple of injury concerns in the squad, as the participation of Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara will be subject to their fitness ahead of the tournament.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando are named as players on standby and only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the squad to Australia.

Most of the players from the Asia Cup 2022 feature in the World Cup squad as well. The ones to miss out on both the main squad and reserve group are Matheesha Pathirana, who made his debut in the Asia Cup, Nuwan Thushara and Asitha Fernando.

Dinesh Chandimal, the veteran middle-order batter, who made a return to the T20I squad in the Asia Cup, has been moved to the list of standby players. The impressive left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka retains his place in the squad after a great outing in the UAE. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay retain their places after coming in for the Asia Cup as well.

Key fast bowler Chameera’s ankle injury hasn’t healed completely and his return will depend on his fitness in a month. Despite his and Lahiru Kumara’s doubtful participation, the squad has several pace options, with Madushanka, Pramod Madushan and Chamika Karunaratne named on the list.

Sri Lanka will kick off their World Cup campaign with a game against Namibia on the 16th of October. They’re placed in Group A along with Namibia, U.A.E and Netherlands. The first stage of the World Cup will feature matches amongst the teams in the group stage. The teams finishing in the top two positions in both groups will advance to the Super-12 stage of the tournament.

After their Asia Cup victory, Sri Lanka has sent a strong message across the cricketing fraternity that they’re not a team to be taken lightly. Captain Dasun Shanka will once again look to inspire his men to script history at the mega event.

Sri Lanka’s 20-20 World Cup squad:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News