Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Lagta he ab DRS ka bhi DRS hona chahye’ – Fans troll umpires as Rohit Sharma controversially given out lbw against RCB in IPL 2023

Mumbai Indians won their reverse fixture of the ongoing IPL 2023 against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Image Credit: Twitter/IPL)

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma‘s LBW decision in the game against Royal Challengers Bangalore has become a controversial one. The incident happened in the fifth over of the second innings bowled by Wanindu Hasaranga. Early in the over, the Sri Lanka international took the wicket of Ishan Kishan. Meanwhile, on the last ball of the over, Sharma stepped down the wicket but was struck on the pads.

The fielding side appealed for the LBW but the umpire gave it not out, possibly citing the right-hander running down the track. However, the Red Army took the help of the DRS technology. The ball tracker showed the ball went past the bat and would crash on the stumps. However, the technology didn’t count Sharma stepping down the track.

Appendix D of the IPL playing condition states that if a batter is down the track beyond 300 cm (3-meter mark), they won’t be given out lbw.

“Where the evidence shows that the ball was hitting, the point of first interception was in line, and the ball pitched in line or outside off, but that: the point of first interception was 300cm or more from the stump, or the point of first interception was more than 250cm but less than 300cm from the stumps and the distance between the point of pitching and the point of first interception was less than 40cm, the on-field decision shall stand (that is, Not out).”

Rohit Sharma’s controversial dismissal has created a massive debate

Meanwhile, after Rohit Sharma’s dismissal, the likes of Nehal Wadhera and Suryakumar Yadav brutally punished the Royal Challengers bowlers. Chasing 200 runs to win, the home team, MI lost their first two wickets for 52 runs. At this point, both Yadav and Wadhera added 140 runs in just 66 balls (11 overs). This resulted in the former champions winning the game by six wickets and 3.3 overs to spare.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID