Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Indian T20 League 2022:Deep Dasgupta names his pick for emerging player of Indian T20 League 2022

Deep Dasgupta picks his choice for the Emerging Player of the Year Award for the 15th edition of the Indian T20 League 2022.

Deep Dasgutpa-Ayush Badoni-Tilak Varma
Deep Dasgutpa-Ayush Badoni-Tilak Varma (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

The Indian T20 League has been the breeding ground for new and amazing talents of the country. Over the years it has gifted cricket with some of the biggest superstars of the game. The uniqueness of the tournament lies in the fact that it allows some new and undiscovered talents of Indian cricket to rub shoulders with the biggest superstars of world cricket.

The Emerging Player of the Year award has been a newly introduced concept for the Indian T20 League. It has been presented to encourage the youngsters since the inception of the cash-rich league in 2008. There are certain boxes that a player has to tick to be eligible for the award. A player should have featured in five or fewer Test matches or 20 or fewer ODIs and should have played 25 or fewer ITL matches.

Notably, some of the biggest names of Indian cricket at present like Rohit Sharma, Axar Patel, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, and Shubman Gill have won the award earlier. In the last two years, Devdutt Padikkal and Ruturaj Gaikwad have been the recipients of the award. Since the inception of the tournament, only one overseas player has received the award, Mustafizur Rehman in 2016.

Deep Dasgupta’s Choice for the Award

Deep Dasgupta has been a professional commentator for quite some time now. He has a part of commentating team for the broadcasters of the Indian T20 League 2022. He has named his pick for the Emerging Player of the Year for ITL 2022 in a conversation with CricTracker in a show presented by

“I will only consider players, who have started playing this season, and I am gonna go with Ayush Badoni. There are others like Tilak Varma is doing very well. The pacer Arshdeep Singh has done well, but is playing for a few years now.”- said Dasgupta.

Ayush Badoni, Dasgupta’s choice for the award is playing for Lucknow in Indian T20 League 2022. He has featured in eight matches in the tournament and has scored 134 runs in them at a strike rate of 139.58. He impressed everybody with his composure in his debut match against Gujarat, where he scored 55 runs off 41 deliveries. Besides, this he has also played some quickfire cameos for the team in the tournament.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID