Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Indian T20 League 2022: Three reasons why Bangalore failed to win the title

Bangalore lost to Rajasthan in the second Qualifier

Bangalore (Source: IPL/BCCI)

Bangalore managed to impress several pundits and fans during the recently concluded Indian T20 League 2022. Although they failed to win the title, the Faf du Plessis-led side did make it to the second Qualifier. Several of their players had a tournament to remember as well.

However, they would be disappointed to have not won their maiden title as they looked like a really good side on paper. So what really went wrong for the 2016-finalists? Today, we shall be taking a look at three reasons why Bangalore failed to win the Indian T20 League 2022.

1) No explosive starts from their openers

Bangalore’s openers weren’t really at their best this time around. Although their skipper Faf du Plessis scored 468 runs in the 2022 edition, it came at a strike rate of 127.52, which isn’t as good according to modern standards. On the other hand, Virat Kohli was having a torrid time as well.

The batting maestro scored 341 runs at an average of 22.71. To make matters worse, his strike rate was just 115.98 in this edition. Thus, the lack of quick runs in the powerplay overs hurt the Bangalore-based franchise.

2) No support for Dinesh Karthik in the lower middle-order:

Dinesh Karthik was absolutely sensational in the 15th edition of the league. While he consistently finished games for Bangalore, he didn’t get much support from the other lower middle-order. Although Shahbaz Ahmed did look good in a few games, he wasn’t able to regularly hit the big shots during the
death overs.

Besides, if not for Karthik, the 2016-finalists wouldn’t have even made it to the playoffs this time around. The poor finish by Bangalore in the second Qualifier was one of the major reasons why they ended up losing the game.

3) Poor form of Mohammed Siraj:

Mohammed Siraj was retained by the Bangalore-based franchise ahead of the mega auction. There were a lot of expectations from the speedster. However, he failed to impress, and was below-par, to say the least.

The pacer consistently leaked runs and failed to pick wickets as well. Siraj was only able to pick nine wickets in 15 games of this edition. Moreover, he had an economy rate of 10.08. During the second Qualifier, he went for 31 runs in his two overs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID