Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Indian T20 League 2022: List of award winners after the final

The Indian T20 League concluded with Gujarat lifting the title in their debut season

Gujarat Titans
Gujarat Titans (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

The Indian T20 League 2022 has come to a conclusion with debutants, Gujarat winning the title by beating Rajasthan on May 29. The 2008 winners entered the game to win their second title since the inaugural season of the league in 2008. They wanted to give their 2008 skipper Late Shane Warne a tribute as he died in March this year. On the other hand, the Ahmedabad-based team had a point to prove.

They were the underdogs going into the season as the experts termed the team as one of the weakest after the mega auction in February this year. However, despite the odds, the team topped the points table with 10 wins in 14 games in the league stage. They played Qualifier 1 against the second-best team of the league phase, Rajasthan, and beat them comfortably in the end.

The team dominated the final as well. After winning the toss, the Sanju Samson-led side decided to bat first. They had a decent start as they scored 60/1 at one stage. However, the Blue Brigade came back strongly with the ball as they restricted the opposition on 130/9 with Jos Buttler (39) being the highest scorer for the team. In reply, the Hardik Pandya-led side had a poor start as they lost two wickets for 23 runs.

The likes of Shubman Gill, Pandya, and David Miller played steadily and took the team over the line with seven wickets in hand and 11 balls to spare. This was a fairy-tail season for the team who wasn’t even the contenders to win the title ahead of the 15th season. This resembles a lot with the 2008 season when the Pink Brigade was on the same boat as the experts had termed the team as one of the weakest teams.

Notably, the team had topped the table with 11 wins in 14 games that season. Both the seasons will be remembered for the underdogs proving their critics wrong and doing the unthinkable. Meanwhile, here is the list of the award winners after the final and the season.

Full list of award winners from the final game and 2022 season

Awards presented to the players after the Gujarat vs Rajasthan final

Super Striker of the match – David Miller

Game Changer of the match – Hardik Pandya

Most Sixes – Yashasvi Jaiswal

Power Player of the match – Trent Boult

Most Valuable asset of the match – Hardik Pandya

Fastest Delivery of the match – Lockie Ferguson

Most Fours – Jos Buttler

Player of the Match – Hardik Pandya

Indian T20 League 2022 edition awards and cash prizes (The amount is in INR)

Emerging Player of Season – Umran Malik – 10 lakh

Sixes of the Season award – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Super Striker of the Season – Dinesh Karthik (Won Car)

Game Changer of the Season – Jos Buttler

Fairplay award – GT and RR

Power Player of the Season – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Fastest Delivery of Season – Lockie Ferguson – 10 lakh

Fours of the Season – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Most Wickets – Yuzvendra Chahal – 10 lakh

Most Runs – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh

Best Catch of the Season – Evin Lewis – 10 lakh

Most Valuable Player – Jos Buttler – 10 lakh


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID