Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

‘Powerful people make place powerful’ – Twitter users go crazy as Gujarat win their maiden Indian T20 League title in their debut season

Gujarat have won the Indian T20 League 2022

Gujarat Titans, Trent Boult
Gujarat Titans, Trent Boult (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

Gujarat and Rajasthan locked horns in the final match of the Indian T20 League 2022 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. After winning the toss, the 2008-winners elected to bat first. They had a decent start as openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler stitched a partnership of 31 runs in the first four overs. Jaiswal (22 off 16), who looked like a cat on a hot tin roof, was caught at deep square leg by Sai Kishore off Yash Dayal.

Skipper Sanju Samson came and scored 14 off 11 balls before the was caught at short third man by Sai Kishore off Hardik Pandya. This wicket triggered a collapse as they went from 60/1 to 98/6 in 7.3 overs. Buttler (39), who has been the highest run-getter of the tournament, became the second victim of Pandya. Another big blow for the team was the fall of Shimron Hetmyer (11), who has been the best finisher for the team in this edition. However, he was caught and bowled by Pandya.

Riyan Parag (15) and Trent Boult (11) took the team to 130/9. For Gujarat, Pandya took three wickets while Kishore took two, and Mohammed Shami and Dayal took one each. In reply, the Hardik Pandya-led side had a poor start as Wriddhiman Saha (5) was clean bowled by a brilliant inswing delivery from Prasidh Krishna in the second over. Three overs later, Boult struck as Matthew Wade (8) was caught at short midwicket by Parag. At 23/2, the likes of skipper Pandya and Shubman Gill stitched a partnership of 63 runs.

The Gujarat skipper scored 34 off 30 balls including three fours and a six before he was caught at slips by Jaiswal off Yuzvendra Chahal. Chahal did a Shane Warne as the ball turned by seven degrees. Even Pandya had no answer to this and went back to the dugout. David Miller (32 off 19) came and stitched an unbeaten partnership of 47 runs with Gill (45 off 43). The team went on to win the game by seven wickets. Thus, they created history in their debut season in the cash-rich league by winning the title.

This is how Twitter reacted

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID