Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

Details of Prize money for Test Championship cycle of 2021-2023 announced

India and Australia will face each other at the Oval in June.

Pat Cummins and Rohit Sharma

The final of the Test Championship will take place between India and Australia starting on June 7 at the Oval in London. While the Kangaroos will be playing their first Test Championship final, India will be playing the summit clash for the second time in as many finals. The tournament will also take place in England for the second time. India lost the big match to New Zealand in 2021 when it was held in Southampton.

The pot of prize money has been announced for the 2021-23 cycle with a total sum of 3.8 million that will be distributed between all the teams. The winners of the Test Championship final will take home the Test Championship Mace and a huge sum of 1.6 million. The runners-up will end up getting 800,000 dollars. When it comes to the prize money for taking part in the tournament, there is no change in that count. New Zealand were awarded 1.6 million dollars for winning the Test Championship in 2021.

India beat Australia 2-1 in Border-Gavaskar Trophy on home soil recently

The 3.8 million purses will be distributed among the teams in the Test Championship based on the rankings that they end up getting placed in that particular cycle. All nine teams will get a share in the $3.8 million purse with South Africa receiving $450,000 for finishing third in the Test Championship 2021-23 standings. England, who were late bloomers and finished their campaign in fourth spot, will get $350,000.

Sri Lanka, who were among the top teams in the running for a spot in the finals, played out a wonderful Test series against the Kiwis but ended up finished fifth to earn $200,000. The other teams that are New Zealand (No.6), Pakistan (No.7), West Indies (No.8), and Bangladesh (No.9) will be taking home a sum of $100,000 each. The Test Championship was brought to save Test cricket which appeared to be dying.

A Dukes ball will be used for the final. An SG or Kookaburra will not be used as India and Australia are playing in a neutral venue. India and Australia recently clashed against each other at the Border-Gavaskar Trophy where India won a hard-fought series 2-1 on home soil.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID