Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Asia Cup 2023

‘Bhai ek baar baith aur decide kr le phle’ – Fans react as Shubman Gill reveals who his inspiration was when he started his career

Star New Zealand batter Kane Williamson received the International Test Cricketer of the Year award

Shubman Gill

Star India batter Shubman Gill is set to participate in his first ODI Cricket World Cup. Ahead of the prestigious tournament, he will participate in the Asia Cup. He was named in the 17-member squad announced on Monday for the continental tournament. Meanwhile, on Monday, Gill also bagged two awards at the CEAT Cricket Rating Awards 2023.

In the annual award show, Gill bagged two awards: International Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year. However, in conversation with the event host, Gill spoke about his early career. The 23-year-old batter explained how he was influenced by Sachin Tendulkar and decided to play cricket. Gill also thanked the Indian team management, especially skipper Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid, for supporting him.

Speaking about his inspiration for the game, Gill said, “Sachin Tendulkar was my inspiration when I started playing cricket.” Speaking further about former India skipper Virat Kohli, Gill said that he is a hulk. He said Kohli has energy like the Hulk, so if he were a superhero, he should be the Hulk. It’s worth noting that Gill received awards from India skipper Rohit Sharma.

After winning the award, Gill said, “I’m honoured to be selected as the recipient of the coveted CEAT Men’s International Cricketer of the Year. As a cricketer, it’s always about pushing boundaries, facing challenges head-on, and constantly improving to reach new heights. This recognition reinforces the parallel between our commitment to excellence and would encourage me to strive harder.”

Suryakumar Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar also shine at the CEAT Awards

Apart from Gill, star Indian batter Suryakumar Yadav also shone at the award show. Surya received the International T20 Batsman of the Year Award. Meanwhile, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar got the T20 Bowler of the Year award. Star New Zealand batter Kane Williamson received the International Test Cricketer of the Year award, while England coach Brendon McCullum was adjourned as Coach of the Year.

In the female category, star India player Deepti Sharma received the Women’s International Cricketer of the Year Award. Meanwhile, Jalaj Saxena won the Domestic Cricketer of the Year Award. It’s worth noting that India skipper Rohit Sharma was handed a special memento by the organisers to wish him and the Indian team the best of luck ahead of two upcoming tournaments.

Here is how fans react to Shubman Gill’s comments on Sachin Tendulkar:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Asia Cup 2023


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID