Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

‘Welcome Back Chief’ – Twitter users express their excitement as MS Dhoni takes over Chennai captaincy once again

MS Dhoni has led Chennai to four titles

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

MS Dhoni is all set to lead Chennai for the remainder of the Indian T20 League 2022. Two days prior to the start of the ongoing edition, MS Dhoni had stepped down from captaincy, and handed over the reins to Ravindra Jadeja. This decision had sent shockwaves to the fans as no one anticipated the move. However, after a while, Jadeja had revealed that Dhoni had been grooming him for the role since February this year.

Under the all-rounder’s captaincy, the team has only won two out of the eight games they have played so far. To make matters worse, the left-hander has struggled with the bat, as well as the ball. He has mustered 112 runs in eight games, striking at 121.7. Talking about his performance with the ball, he has only managed to pick five wickets at an economy rate of 8.19.

The reason for Jadeja to hand over the captaincy back to Dhoni is because the former wants to concentrate on his all-round game. In a statement issued by the franchise on their official Twitter handle, they said that the legendary keeper-batter has accepted to lead the team. It is to be noted that Jadeja wanted to concentrate on his game.

“MS Dhoni has accepted to lead CSK in the larger interest and to allow Jadeja to focus on his game,” read the statement.

The four-time winners will play their next game against Hyderabad on May 1. Meanwhile, talking about Dhoni’s captaincy, he has led the team from 2008 to 2015 and then from 2018 to 2021. In 2016 and 2017, the team was suspended on the charges of betting and spot-fixing. In 2018, they made a comeback and won the title, beating Hyderabad in the final.

This was their third title in the history of the cash-rich league. The first two title wins came in 2010 and 2011 respectively and became the first team to defend their title. Last year, they won their fourth title under the leadership of the Ranchi-born player.

This is how Twitter reacted







Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID