Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID


Trent Boult named the T20I player of the year

New Zealand Cricket Board has announced the list of its yearly awards recipients. Trent Boult received the award for men’s T20I player of the year.

Trent Boult

The New Zealand Cricket Board has announced the list of the recipients of their award. These awards were distributed digitally over three years.

Trent Boult has been named Men’s T20I player of the year due to his brilliant show in the T20 World Cup in 2022. He picked up 13 wickets in the tournament and played an integral part in New Zealand’s journey to the finals.

Sophie Devine, the White Ferns skipper received the Women’s T20I player of the year award. She has scored runs at an average of 29.50 and a strike rate of 113.46 since September 2021.

Meanwhile, Trent Boult who is currently having a brilliant time in the Indian T20 League 2022 for Rajasthan expressed his ecstasy at receiving the massive honor.  To quote the bowler from a video shared on New Zealand Cricket’s official page on social media – “T20 is a format I really enjoy and one I’m constantly trying to adapt my game to in order to become a better bowler. It’s something very special to win this award and I feel really grateful to receive it.”

On the second day of the event on Wednesday (13th April), awards will be given for special performances in the First-class and domestic circuit. The men’s and women’s ODI players of the year and the umpire of the year award will also be distributed on the same day. The event will see its conclusion on Thursday, where the recipients of the men’s and women’s domestic players of the year award and the Test player of the year award will be announced.

Here is a look at the other awards from day 1 of the event.

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine (Wellington Blaze)

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Trent Boult (Northern Brave)

Women’s Super-Smash Player of the Year: Melie Kerr (Wellington Blaze)

Men’s Super-Smash Player of the Year: Michael Bracewell (Wellington Firebirds)

ANZ Fan Moment of the Summer: Ross Taylor’s final wicket in his last test

Community Awards:

Young Player of the Year: Fran Jonas (Auckland Cricket)

Young Player of the Year: Jacob Cummings (Otago Cricket)

Club of the Year: Pleasant Point Cricket Club (South Canterbury)

Volunteer of the Year: Jeremy Dean (Eastern Suburbs & Wellington Wanders)

Community Cricket Activator of the Year: Frances Stewart (Cricket Wellington)

Official of the Year: Brendon Davies (Northern Districts)

Best Female Engagement Initiative: Young Leaders (Cricket Wellington)

Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Maria Lankeshwar (nee Fahey) (Sydenham Cricket Club)

Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Anthony de Joux (Celtic Cricket Club)

Best Diversity and Inclusion Initiative: Counties Manukau Premier League (Counties Manukau)

Community Cricket Collaboration Initiative of the Year: Canterbury Cricket

Sir Jack Newman: Gerard Finnie (Otago Cricket)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID