Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID


Top five matches with highest aggregate scores in Indian T20 League

The scale of entertainment provided by the Indian T20 League is its greatest USP. The thrilling competitions grip the attention of the audiences and do not let them turn their heads. The Indian T20 League has provided us with some very high scoring matches over the years. The domination of batsmen in these matches has made the competitions even more attractive.

The 15th edition of the Indian T20 League is all set to begin from the 26th of March, 2022. With the gala event round the corner, let’s have a look at the matches with the highest aggregate scores over the course of Indian T20 League history.

Punjab vs Kolkata, 2018, 459 runs: The match took place in the Holkar Stadium, Indore. Punjab won the toss and asked Kolkata to bat first. Sunil Narine started the Kolkata innings with a blast scoring 75 runs off 36 deliveries. With some late flourish by Dinesh Karthik (50 of 23 deliveries) and scores all through the order, Kolkata reached a total of 245 runs in 20 overs.

Punjab came out to chase a huge target of 246 runs and got a good start courtesy of KL Rahul scoring 66 runs off 29 deliveries. But with the dismissal of Rahul, the Punjab innings lost its impetus and even a late flourish by Ravichandran Ashwin could not save Punjab as they fell short by 31 runs (214 runs).

Chennai vs Punjab, 2008, 447 runs: This was the second match in the history of the Indian T20 League. In this match at Mohali, Chennai won the toss and decided to bat first. Mike Hussey scored a brilliant hundred (116 of 54 deliveries) aided by supporting roles by other batsmen in the lineup. Chennai achieved a target of 240 runs in 20 overs.

In the Punjab chase of this huge total, James Hopes (71 of 33 deliveries) and Kumar Sangakkara (54 of 33 deliveries) fought hard to reach the target. But the dismissal of these two batsmen ensured that the home team fell short of the target by 33 runs at 207 runs from 20 overs.


Rajasthan vs Punjab, 2020, 449 runs: Rajasthan won the toss in this match held at iconic Sharjah Cricket Ground and put Punjab to bat. Mayank Agarwal scored a delightful century (106 runs of 50 deliveries) along with a half-century by his fellow opener KL Rahul (69 of 54 deliveries). These two efforts took the Punjab total to 223 runs.

Rajasthan came out to bat and Steve Smith (50 of 27 deliveries) and Sanju Samson (85 of 42 deliveries) were progressing well towards achieving the target. But the dismissal of these two got the Rajasthan in trouble and they began to fall away from the course. But against the run of play, Rahul Tewatia slammed 5 sixes off an over of Sheldon Cottrell and the match turned on its head. Ultimately Rajasthan won the match by 2 wickets with 3 deliveries to spare.

Mumbai vs Punjab, 2017, 453 runs: Mumbai hosted Punjab in this match at Wankhede. The hosts won the toss and put the visitors to bat. Two swashbuckling knocks by Wriddhiman Saha (93 of 55 deliveries) and Glenn Maxwell (47 of 21 deliveries) helped Punjab put on a total of 230 runs for the hosts to chase down.

Mumbai started the chase with Lendl Simmons scoring an attacking 59 off 32 deliveries. His effort was followed by a quick-fire half-century from Kieron Pollard (50 of 24 deliveries) and a short and crisp effort by Hardik Pandya (30 of 12 deliveries). Even the late flourishes could not help Mumbai get past the target and they fell short by 7 runs, scoring 223 runs in their 20 overs.

469- Rajasthan vs Chennai, 2010

Murali Vijay scored 127 runs from 56 balls in this match as Chennai posted 246 runs. Albie Morkel also scored a half-century. Naman Ojha got Rajasthan off to a good start and scored 94 runs. Shane Watson, who scored a 60, also played an important role in the contest. Rajasthan scored 223 in their overs and lost the match.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID