Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

Top 5 Cricketers Who Transitioned into Politics: A Unique Blend of Sporting and Political Achievements

Check out the top five cricketers who turned politicians into a unique blend of sporting and Political achievements

Cricketers turned Politicians

Cricket, often likened to a religion in nations like India, holds a special place in the hearts of millions. However, it’s not uncommon to see cricketing legends transition into politics. This shift from the cricket field to the political sphere mirrors a broader trend where athletes utilize their fame and influence to pursue roles in governance and public service.

One standout example of this transition is Sachin Tendulkar, the renowned Indian cricketer, who entered politics following his retirement. In 2012, Tendulkar received a nomination to the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian Parliament, from the President of India. As cricket continues to captivate audiences worldwide, the journey from the cricket pitch to the political stage will remain an intriguing narrative of leadership and public service. Let us look at five such examples of players who transcended their careers from cricket to politics;

5. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir (Source: Twitter)

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir transitioned into politics by joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2019. The talismanic batter won the Lok Sabha elections from the East Delhi constituency, focusing on nationalism, youth empowerment, and infrastructure development. As a Member of Parliament, he advocates for policies benefiting his constituents and the nation, showcasing the trend of athletes entering public service.

4. Navjot Singh Sidhu

<yoastmark class=

Navjot Singh Sidhu ventured into politics after retiring from the sport. The former Indian cricketer joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and served as a Member of Parliament. Later, he switched to the Indian National Congress party and held various ministerial positions in Punjab. Known for his outspoken nature, Sidhu remains a prominent figure in Indian politics, often voicing his opinions on various social and political issues.

Also Read: IND vs ENG 2024:Top 5 Indian Captains to Lose Test Series VS England at Home

3. Manoj Tiwary

Manoj Tiwary

Manoj Tiwary (Source: Twitter)

The former India cricketer Manoj Tiwary recently joined the Trinamool Congress in preparation for the West Bengal assembly polls, making the announcement during Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s rally in Hooghly district. The trend of sports stars transitioning into politics after retirement is common globally. Notable cricket figures like Imran Khan, Aamir Sohail, Sarfraz Nawaz, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mashrafe Mortaza, Chetan Chauhan, and Hashan Tillakaratne have also made this transition, with Khan being one of the most prominent examples.

2. Mohammad Kaif

Mohammad Kaif

Mohammad Kaif (Source: Twitter)

The former Indian cricketer, Mohammad Kaif entered politics after retiring from the sport. The star India batter joined the Indian National Congress party and contested the Lok Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh. Kaif’s transition into politics reflects a trend of athletes engaging in public service after their sporting careers. Regarded as one of the best fielders that India has produced, Kaif has played 125 ODIs and 13 Tests between 2000 and 2006.

1. Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin (Source: Twitter)

The former captain, Mohammad Azharuddin entered politics after retiring from cricket. The star India batter joined the Indian National Congress party and was elected as a Member of Parliament from the Moradabad constituency in 2009 in Uttar Pradesh. Azharuddin’s move from cricket to politics highlights the common trend of athletes transitioning into public service roles after their sporting careers. The legendary Indian batter led the Indian team in 47 Tests during the 1990s.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID