Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

India vs England 2024

IND vs ENG 2024:Top 5 Indian Captains to Lose Test Series VS England at Home

India have only lost 3 Tests in the last 11 years at home.

MS Dhoni and Sunil Gavaskar

Winning a Test series in India is one of the most difficult tasks in cricket. Cricket experts have often stated that winning the World Cup is easier than winning a Test series in India. Indian players have been prepared in a way that they cannot lose even a Test match in India.

In the last two tours of the England team to India, they have played nine Tests and have only managed to win once and draw another one. However, there have been instances where an England team has been able to win a series against India in India.

Also Check: IND vs ENG 2024: Top 3 Contenders to Replace Virat Kohli in First Two Tests Against England

Top 5 Indian Captains to Lose Test Series VS England at Home

5) CK Nayudu (1933-34)

CK Nayudu

CK Nayudu (Source: Twitter)

CK Nayudu was the first ever Test captain for Team India even before the Independence of the nation. However, this iconic series between India and England in the sub-continent, did not have a happy ending for the hosts. The 3-match series saw the home side go winless but manage to put out a valiant draw against worthy opponents. The 1933/34 tour belong to the England side as they clinched the series 2-0 

4) Bishan Singh Bedi (1976-77)

Bishan Singh Bedi

Bishan Singh Bedi (Source: Twitter)

The time-gap between England’s next series win on Indian soil was nearly more than 30 years. This shows how dominant India was despite not being a powerhouse of cricket during this period. Bishan Singh Bedi led the Indian team in the five-match Test series however the side performed poorly as they lost the series 3-1. All three of the England victories were dominant ones as they did not allow the hosts to settle in.

3) Gundappa Vishwanath (1980)

Gundappa Vishwanath

Gundappa Vishwanath (Source: Twitter)

England travelled to India to commemorate the 50 years of the establishment of the Indian Cricket Board. It was only a one-off Test match between the sides but it was a riveting one for the fans nonetheless. The iconic Test match was held at the Wankhede stadium, where the visitors demolished the Indian team led by Gundappa Vishwanath by 10 wickets. The golden jubilee celebration was a short-lived one for the hosts since they lost this Test badly.

2) Sunil Gavaskar (1984/85)

Sunil Gavaskar

Sunil Gavaskar (Source: Twitter)

Four years later, England travelled to India for a four-match Test series. The series was being played with a lot of political tension in the air since it was taking place after the assassination of the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. However, there was more remorse for the Team India supporters since their side lost the series 2-1. The little master blaster of that generation, Sunil Gavaskar was the captain of the side in this losing cause.

1) MS Dhoni (2012/13)

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni (Source: Twitter)

The last-ever series that India lost at home was under the leadership and guidance of the legendary wicket-keeper batter MS Dhoni. The England batters were able to read the variation deliveries of the Indian bowlers with ease. This ultimately allowed them to score bulk of runs and not give away wickets cheaply. India took the first Test, however, the next two Tests belonged to the visitors. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India vs England 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID
4 Players Virat Kohli Dropped from ODI Team Top 4 bowling figures of overseas players in IPL IPL: 5 best knocks of Virat Kohli in league’s history Indian bowlers with weird bowling actions Top Indian cricketers who might be featured in IPL 2024 3 Cricket Players born on leap day 5 CSK Stars to Win Pakistan Super League (PSL) Title 3 Players who have been ruled out of IPL 2024 Top 3 longest sixes in IPL history AUS vs NZ : 3 fast bowlers who can replace Neil Wagner in New Zealand’s Test team