Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘They support our country’s talent’ – Fans pleased as reports of Bangalore team not investing in SA20, ILT20 to focus on the WTL emerge

The owners of some of the Indian T20 League teams backed the initiative of the Women’s T20 League.

Bangalore (source: Twitter)

The owners of some of the Indian T20 League teams backed the initiative of the Women’s T20 League. Teams like Mumbai, Bangalore, and Delhi are among the existing teams to have won the bids for a team in the tournament.

The Bangalore franchise’s chairman, Prathmesh Mishra, explained that the group avoided bidding for teams in the men’s ILT20 and SA20 leagues in order to focus on the Women’s T20 League. “We held back all our investments in overseas teams to own a team that aligns with this philosophy and core value, and it gives us immense pleasure to have marked this accomplishment positively.”

“We have been following women’s leagues very closely and our scouting team has set their eyes on women cricketers for some time now, as part of RCB Hinterland scouting system, and it gives us immense joy to see it all coming together for a team that sets to play for the inaugural edition of women’s IPL in the country,” team’s vice-president, Rajesh V Menon, said.

In the meantime, the winners of the teams were announced on Wednesday following the opening of sealed bids in Mumbai, with the Indian Cricket Board fetching a record sum of INR 4669.99 crore (USD 572.78 million approx).

The Ahmedabad team was sold for the most money: INR 1289 crore (USD 158 million approximately), followed by Mumbai (INR 912.99 crore/USD 111 million approximately), Bengaluru (INR 901 crore/USD 110 million approximately), Delhi (INR 810 crore/USD 99.35 million approximately), and Lucknow (INR 757 crore/USD 92.85 million approximately).

The Indian Cricket Board recently earned a large sum from the sale of the Women’s T20 League media rights to Viacom 18 for INR 951 crore (approximately USD 116.7 million) for a five-year period between 2023 and 2027. The tournament will distribute 80% of the media rights money to the franchises in the first five years under the revenue-sharing model.

In the meantime, Twitter was elated to hear about Bangalpre’s priority to back the Women’s tournament. “Nation first priority rather than gaining profit. RCB best IPL,” a fan wrote.

Here is how Twitter reacted to Bangalore’s preference


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID