Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Global T20 Canada 2023

‘Shaandar jit mili’- Fans reacts Montreal Tigers wins a thriller against Surrey Jaguars to claim GT20 Canada title

Montreal Tigers defeated Surrey Jaguars by 5 wickets to win the Global T20 Canada (GT20) 2023 title.

GT20 Canada

The GT20 Canada 2023 final was played today, August 7, between the Surrey Jaguars and the Montreal Tigers. The Jaguars led the table, but Montreal had the greatest stars in their lineup, giving the latter a minor advantage heading into the final. And, indeed, it was the Montreal Tigers that won the 2023 Global T20 Canada.

The season is over after a couple of weeks of fantastic cricket, Montreal Tigers defeated Surrey Jaguars by 5 wickets to win the Global T20 Canada (GT20) 2023 title on Sunday, August 6 night at the CAA Centre in Brampton, Ontario, Canada. West Indies batter Andre Russell helped his team to win the final after hitting the match-winning six on the last ball.

Andre Russell and Sherfane Rutherford seal the final 

After limiting Surrey Jaguars to 130/5 in the GT20 Season 3 final, Andre Russell bowled a terrific last over, conceding only 7 runs and scalping Matthew Forde (1) in the process. Sherfane Rutherford and Andre Russell’s 29-run partnership off 12 balls won the win for Montreal Tigers in the final over. Rutherford 38 not out off 29 balls and Russell 20 not out off 6 balls hammered three sixes and one four in the final two overs to propel Montreal Tigers to their first-ever GT20 victory.

For the Jaguars, skipper Ifhtikar Ahmed shone with the ball, taking two wickets for eight runs in four overs, but it wasn’t enough to prevent the Tigers from completing their objective. However, the league’s debutants made the Tigers work hard in the run chase. Earlier, Mohammad Haris (23) and Jatinder Singh (56*) began cautiously, and the Surrey Jaguars were 35/0 at the conclusion of the powerplay. Jatinder Singh led the way with an undefeated half-century.

Chris Lynn stated, “I hope everyone in Canada was watching that because that’s what we’re about, that’s why we’re here, to entertain and put on a show.” “That’s why they’re here; they’re big-game players.” Montreal Tigers captain Chris Lynn was the highest run-scorer in the tournament scoring 234 runs in just 9 innings. The highest wicket-taker for the tournament was Surrey Jauguar’s picking up 15 wickets in 8 innings.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Global T20 Canada 2023


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID