Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

India vs South Africa 2023-2024

Players won’t remain in bio-bubble during India vs South Africa series – Reports

The COVID19 situation in India has significantly improved

India Cricket Team, South Africa Cricket Team
India Cricket Team, South Africa Cricket Team (Image Credit : Twitter)

The upcoming five-match T20I series between India and South Africa might see the players be free of the COVID19 safety protocols. This is the first time in more than two years that a series will be played free of bio-bubbles. The current situation is under control as there are only 16,375 active cases of the deadly disease. The BCCI had earlier stated that the bio-bubble will be abolished if the situation remains under control.

The ongoing Indian T20 League 2022 has seen ten teams having their own bio-safety zones. The players have been vocal about the mental health associated with the bubbles as the player’s movements are restricted specifically to the ground and hotels and vice-versa. Despite such safety, some Delhi players and other members of the team were infected twice during the course of the tournament. However, unlike last year, the games weren’t postponed, and went ahead as per the schedule.

As reported by the Times Of India, BCCI secretary Jay Shah has confirmed that bio-bubble won’t be in place, but cautioned that the players will be tested regularly. The reason behind this decision could be the COVID19 cases being under control. Besides, the 15th season of the cash-rich league is approaching its end, and it hasn’t faced any issues other than the positive cases at the Delhi camp.  Meanwhile, the T20I series between the Men In Blue and the Proteas will start on June 9 in Delhi.

The selection committee has decided to rest the first-choice players, especially those who will be playing the fifth Test match against England in July. On the other hand, Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya have made their comebacks in the national team. Also, players such as Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh have earned their maiden call-ups for the series.

India’s Squad for the T20I series

KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India vs South Africa 2023-2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID