Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Now players will be in their limits’ – Fans praise Indian Cricket Board’s decision to terminate Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer from central contracts

the Indian Cricket Board also terminated the central contracts of Yuzvendra Chahal and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer

In the recent announcement by the Indian Cricket Board regarding the central contracts for the 2023–24 season, The notable exclusions from the list were star cricketers Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer. The duo found themselves absent from the central contracts due to their reported defiance of directives to participate in the Ranji Trophy. It led to the board’s decision not to consider them for the annual contracts.

In a statement, the board said, “Please note that Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan were not considered for the annual contracts in this round of recommendations.” The board also stated that players will need to participate in domestic cricket in their free time.

“The Board has recommended that all athletes give precedence to participating in domestic cricket during periods when they are not representing the national team.”

The Grade A+ category, reserved for the elite players, included the likes of captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja. In contrast, Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer, facing consequences for their non-compliance, were omitted from this prestigious list.

Rinku Singh and Tilak Varma earn big!

On the positive side, Rinku Singh and Tilak Varma emerged as new faces in the central contract list, securing a place in the Grade C category alongside 15 players. This category also featured the comeback duo Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shivam Dube, who showcased strong performances in the Indian T20I team. Jitesh Sharma, stepping in for Ishan Kishan in the T20I squad, also earned a spot on the ‘C’ list.

Grade B contracts included Rishabh Pant, who has been out of action since a car crash in December 2022, alongside Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, and Yashasvi Jaiswal. Pant is expected to make his return in the upcoming Indian Premier League, while Suryakumar remains a promising batter in the T20 format.

The Grade A category featured veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, pacers Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj, as well as batters KL Rahul and Shubman Gill. Hardik Pandya, who led the Indian T20I squad in 2023, secured a Grade A central contract.

Notably, the Selection Committee introduced fast bowling contracts to recognise specialised skills and contributions in the bowling department. Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa were the recipients of these specialised contracts, emphasising the Board’s acknowledgement of their potential impact in the bowling arena.

Apart from Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer, the Indian Cricket Board also terminated the central contracts of Yuzvendra Chahal and Cheteshwar Pujara. Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan and Deepak Hooda also lose their contracts.

Here is how fans react to the board’s decision:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID