Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Mahi bhai se pehle aap retire ho gaye’ – Fans surprised as Ambati Rayudu announces retirement after upcoming IPL 2023 final against Gujarat Titans

Ambati Rayudu will play his last IPL game in the upcoming 2023 final against Gujarat Titans.

Ambati Rayudu
Ambati Rayudu (Image Credit: Twitter/IPL)

Former India cricketer, Ambati Rayudu has announced his retirement from IPL cricket. Ahead of the upcoming 2023 final against Gujarat Titans, he took to Twitter to announce his decision. Rayudu made his debut in the 2010 season for the Mumbai Indians. 13 years ago, MI played their first IPL final, losing to their eventual arch-rivals, CSK. From 2010 to 2017, the right-hander played for the Blue Brigade.

During this stage, he was part of the 2013, 2015, and 2017 winning sides. Notably, in his last season for the Rohit Sharma-led side in 2017, Rayudu played only five games. In the mega auction next year, the former India player joined MI’s rivals and has been part of it ever since. In that season, he scored 602 runs in 16 games and made his comeback in the Indian team.

“2 great teams mi nd csk,204 matches,14 seasons,11 playoffs,8 finals,5 trophies.hopefully 6th tonight. It’s been quite a journey.I have decided that tonight’s final is going to be my last game in the Ipl.i truly hav enjoyed playing this great tournament.Thank u all. No u turn,” Rayudu wrote on Twitter. 

Chennai Super Kings would like to give the best farewell to Ambati Rayudu

Meanwhile, the defending champions, Gujarat will look to defend their title against CSK. The Yellow Brigade has won four titles and won their last in 2021. Last year, they finished second last year while GT, who made their IPL debut, won the title. With Rayudu retiring after the upcoming final, his team would like to give him the best send-off.

On the other hand, they are chasing the fifth title. MI is the only team to win five titles and won their last in 2020. On the other hand, the Titans will look to defend their title, a feat only achieved by CSK (2011) and MI (2020).

This is how Twitter reacted

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID