Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Kya yaar, mood off kar diya’ – Twitter takes offense to Ravi Shastri’s Ind vs Aus Combined XI that has just 4 Indian players

WTC Final is scheduled to take place on June 7th.

Ravi Shastri Ind vs Aus Combined XI

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri has unveiled his combined Test XI, selecting players from the two ICC World Test Championship finalists, India and Australia, ahead of the highly anticipated WTC final at The Oval. Shastri faced the challenging task of assembling a team from the pool of exceptional talent on both sides. In his final XI, four Indian players and seven Australians secured their places.

Shastri’s decision to appoint Rohit Sharma as the captain over Australian counterpart Pat Cummins was based on Sharma’s extensive experience in leadership roles. Shastri explained, “I would give the captaincy to Rohit because he’s much more experienced than Pat. He’s been around and he’s captained sides for a long time.” Sharma also earned a spot as one of the two openers.

The selection of Sharma’s opening partner was a tough call, with the likes of David Warner, Usman Khawaja, and Shubman Gill in contention. However, Shastri leaned towards Khawaja, considering his current form and impressive run-scoring record during the World Test Championship cycle.

At positions three, four, and five, Shastri picked Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli, and Steve Smith, respectively, citing their outstanding performances and the quality they bring to the team.

Deems Jadeja as one of the best all-rounders in the world

Ravindra Jadeja secured the spot at number six due to his prowess as an all-rounder and his ability to provide a second spinning option. Shastri praised Jadeja, stating, “I believe he is one of the best all-rounders in the world.” Alex Carey was chosen as the wicket-keeper and slotted in at number seven.

In the bowling department, Shastri opted for Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, and Mohammed Shami. Shastri highlighted Lyon’s overseas record and his effectiveness as a spinner, particularly in England. He also praised Cummins as a top-class operator and commended Shami’s recent performances in the Indian Premier League.

While making these selections, Shastri acknowledged the difficulty in leaving out renowned players like Ravichandran Ashwin, Josh Hazlewood, and Cheteshwar Pujara, emphasizing the tough choices he had to make.

Ravi Shastri’s combined India-Australia Test XI for the WTC final comprises Rohit Sharma (c), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, and Mohammed Shami.

Here’s how Twitter reacted to Ravi Shastri’s combined XI: 


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID