Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Indian T20 League 2022 Playoff dates and schedule announced!

Gujarat are currently placed at the top of the points table

Eden Gardens, Narendra Modi Stadium
Eden Gardens, Narendra Modi Stadium (Image Credit : Twitter)

The governing council of the Indian T20 League has announced the schedule for the playoff games to be played later this month. The matches will be played at the Eden Gardens and Narendra Modi Stadiums in Kolkata and Ahmedabad respectively. Last month, Kolkata and Ahmedabad were confirmed as the venues for the playoffs. For the unversed, the dates for the matches were not announced.

Talking about the playoff games, the first Qualifier is to be played on May 24 in Kolkata. In that game, teams finishing first and second in the points table at the end of the league stage shall lock horns. The winner of that game will head straight into the final while the loser will play the Qualifier 2 to have another go at the chance of qualifying for the final. On May 25, teams finishing third and fourth will play the Eliminator game in Kolkata once again.

The winner will then play the Qualifier 2 while the loser will be eliminated from the competition. Two days later, the loser of the Qualifier One and the winner of the Eliminator will play against each other in Ahmedabad. The winner of the game will head into the final while the loser goes home. On May 29, the winner of the first and second Qualifier will fight for the trophy at the same venue.

The full schedule of the Indian T20 League 2022 Playoffs is as follows:

Date                                   Match                                                                                           Venue

24-May-22                          Qualifier 1 – Team 1 vs Team 2                                                       Kolkata

25-May-22                          Eliminator – Team 3 vs Team 4                                                      Kolkata

27-May-22                          Qualifier 2 – Winner of Eliminator vs Loser of Qualifier 1       Ahmedabad

29-May-22                          Final – Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2              Ahmedabad

On the other hand, the third edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge shall take place on the same week. However, the dates of the competition will vary from the Indian T20 League playoffs. The schedule of the tournament is not announced yet but the dates and venues have been announced. The league games shall be played on May 23, 24, and 26. The final will be played on 28. All the games shall take place at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune.

Women’s T20 Challenge dates and venue

23-May-227:30 PMMatch No.1Pune
24-May-223:30 PMMatch No.2Pune
26-May-227:30 PMMatch No.3Pune
28-May-227:30 PMFinalPune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID