Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

India tour of England 2022

India squad for South Africa series and Test match against England announced!

KL Rahul will lead India during the T20I series against South Africa

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team (Image Credit : Twitter)

The BCCI has announced the squads for the South Africa series, as well as the rescheduled Test match against England. A lot of senior players have been rested for the five-match T20I series against the Proteas. However, to everyone’s surprise, Shikhar Dhawan has been left out of the squad. Dhawan was expected to lead the T20I side in Rohit Sharma’s absence.

In fact, KL Rahul, who was expected to be travelling with the senior players for the England tour, has been named the captain of the T20I side. Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant, who was expected to be rested has been made the vice-captain of the team. Apart from them, a few players who were expected to be named have been included as well. Them being Dinesh Karthik, Umran Malik, and Arshdeep Singh.

Rahul Tripathi has missed out on the selection even after scoring runs for fun in the ongoing Indian T20 League 2022. The five-match T20I series against the Temba Bavuma-led side will start on June 9.

T20I Squad for South Africa series

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk),Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

On the other hand, the Test squad for the scheduled game against England has also been announced. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has been in terrific form in the County Championship, has made his comeback. Apart from him, a lot of familiar faces have been included in the squad. Prasidh Krishna, who has been travelling with the team for the last one year, has managed to retain his place. The match will start on July 2 in Birmingham.

TEST Squad for the match against England

Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India tour of England 2022


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID