Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Galti kardi politics mein aa ke, acha khasa India jaata’ – Fans react as Imran Khan won’t get Special Blazer ahead of ODI WC 2023 final

Former Pakistan skipper and Prime Minister Imran Khan has been in jail for the last few months.

Imran Khan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former Pakistan skipper and Prime Minister Imran Khan won’t be able to arrive at the special ceremony for the World Cup-winning captains. Apparently, the Apex Council has arranged a special ceremony for the ODI World Cup-winning skippers. This includes Clive Lloyd (West Indies), Kapil Dev (India), Allan Border (Australia), Arjuna Ranatunga (Sri Lanka), Steve Waugh (Australia), Ricky Ponting (Australia), MS Dhoni (India), Michael Clarke (Australia), and Eoin Morgan (England).

However, Khan, who was the World Cup-winning captain in 1992 before Ranatunga won’t be able to attend. Apparently, he was jailed for three years for concealing sales proceeds of state gifts received by him as PM of the country. Talking about the ceremony, it was started in 2015 (10th edition of the ODI World Cup). In the ceremony, the previous World Cup-winning skippers are always rewarded.

Talking about the captains who will arrive, Clive Lloyd was the World Cup-winning captain in 1975 and 1979. Dev won it in 1983 and Border won it four years. Ranatunga won it in 1996 while Waugh won in 1999. Legendary Ponting was the second captain to win it twice in 2003 and 2007. MS Dhoni became the second Indian skipper to win a World Cup as captain in 2011.

Michael Clarke, who played his last ODI in the 2015 final, is the fourth Australia skipper to win. On the other hand, Morgan is the first England skipper to win the ODI World Cup title four years back.

This is how Twitter reacted

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID