Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

Apex Cricket Council unveils ODI Team of the Year 2023, India skipper Rohit Sharma leads the prestigious XI

The fast bowling duo comprises the lethal Mohammed Shami and the rising star Mohammed Siraj, both from India

ODI Team of Year 2023

In a momentous announcement, the Apex Cricket Council revealed the Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2023, a compilation of stellar cricketing talents who showcased extraordinary performances throughout the calendar year. This prestigious lineup, consisting of eleven remarkable players, stands as a testament to their exceptional contributions on the international stage.

Leading the pack is the dynamic Indian opener, Rohit Sharma, who has been bestowed with the captaincy role for his outstanding leadership and consistent run-scoring abilities. Sharma’s prowess with the bat, combined with his strategic acumen, makes him a worthy leader to steer this elite squad.

The Indian dominance continues, with two prolific young talents securing their spots at the top of the order. Shubman Gill, the top ODI run-scorer of 2023 with an impressive tally of 1,584 runs, and the ever-reliable Virat Kohli, who amassed 1,377 runs, bring their formidable batting skills to the forefront.

Travis Head of Australia, recognized for his exceptional performance in the Men’s Cricket World Cup final with a magnificent 137-run knock, earns a well-deserved spot at number three. New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, a consistent performer in the ODI format, follows suit at the number five position.

Mohammed Shami and Siraj lead the bowling unit

The wicketkeeping duties are entrusted to the South African stalwart, Heinrich Klaasen, who not only showcased his skills behind the stumps but also made significant contributions with the bat, accumulating 927 runs.

The bowling department boasts a formidable combination of spin and pace. Wrist spinners Adam Zampa from Australia and Kuldeep Yadav from India add a touch of spin brilliance to the team. The fast bowling duo comprises the lethal Mohammed Shami and the rising star Mohammed Siraj, both from India. Both have scalped 43 and 44 wickets, respectively, in the year 2023. Completing the bowling lineup is the versatile South African all-rounder, Marco Jansen.

The Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2023 is a reflection of the exceptional cricketing talent on display, showcasing the prowess of players from different cricketing nations. Assembled based on their outstanding performances, this elite squad is a tribute to the dedication, skill, and passion that these cricketers bring to the ODI format.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID