Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

9 players dropped from ODI World Cup 2023 squad as England announces squad for West Indies tour

England have announced their squad for the ODIs and T20I series against West Indies

England announces squad

England are already out of the ODI World Cup 2023. The defending champions have really performed poorly in the tournament. Jos Buttler’s side has had a disappointing tournament in India. They failed to qualify for the knockouts and finished in the 7th position in the points table. Though they have confirmed their place for 2025 Champions Trophy that is scheduled to take place in Pakistan.

The team has dropped 9 players who were a part of the World Cup from their squad for the Caribbean tour. The Three Lions will tour the Caribbean for a multi-format limited-overs series in December 2023. The 2019 champions won their last two games and finished their campaign on a high note. Skipper Jos Buttler along with Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, and Liam Livingstone are the only players retained in the squad. Josh Tongue and John Turner are the new inclusions in both squads for the West Indies tour

Ben Stokes, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, and David Willey(who has now retired from ODI cricket) are among the players who have not found their names in the squad There are no official confirmations of why the other players have been dropped. England have announced their squad for the ODIs and T20I series.

England names squad for ODIs and T20I

Moeen Ali has been named as the vice-captain he said, “I look at it as an exciting time going forward because there are so many good players, we know they are coming. Anything could happen there are still another four years before the next World Cup. Like 2015, we were terrible in the World Cup and we started again, almost started fresh and it can be exciting going forward.”

ODI squad: Jos Buttler (captain), Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Ollie Pope, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, John Turner

T20I squad: Jos Buttler (captain), Rehan Ahmed, Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Will Jacks, Liam Livingstone, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Josh Tongue, Reece Topley, John Turner, Chris Woakes

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID