India vs South Africa: Three Formats,Three Captains

India vs South Africa

India named three skippers for the South Africa tour next month, with Rohit Sharma leading the two Tests, Suryakumar Yadav for the T20Is, and KL Rahul for the ODIs.

Multi-format tour

The tour, which opens on December 10 with a T20 in Durban and is set to run until January 7, includes three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests, the BCCI said. 

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli

The BCCI said Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had asked for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour.

Mohammed Shami 

Mohammed Shami is undergoing medical treatment and his availability is subject to fitness.

Purjara and Rahane 

India deopped Ajinkya Rahane while Cheteshwar Pujara could not force his way back in, with both seemingly at the end of their international careers.

Jaiswal and Gaikwad

Yashasvi Jaiswal Ruturaj Gaikwad and Mukesh Kumar are the only players to be picked across formats.

Jasprit Bumrah 

Jasprit  Bumrah made a comeback having last played a test more than 17 months back, but he has been rested for white-ball cricket on this tour.

Bengal man takes his own life after heartbreaking ODI World Cup 2023 defeat