Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

Watch: MS Dhoni’s lightening quick stumping sends back IPL 2023 Orange Cap holder, Shubman Gill

MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first in the ongoing IPL 2023 final against Gujarat Titans.

Shubman Gill, MS Dhoni
Shubman Gill, MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter/IPL)

Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni has done what he is best over the years. In the ongoing IPL 2023, he sent back Orange Cap holder, Shubman Gill back to the pavilion after the latter scored 39 runs in just 20 balls. The incident happened in the seventh over of the first innings. Ravindra Jadeja managed to get past Gill’s outside edge.

On the other hand, the right-hander who tried to drive the ball came out of the crease just a little bit. However, that was enough for the former India skipper to whip off the bails. As it turned out, the 2018 U19 World Cup winner finished his tournament with 890 runs. With this, he has the second most runs in a season, getting past Jos Buttler’s 863 last year.

Notably, Gill got a reprieve from Deepak Chahar as the latter dropped an easy. At this stage, it looked like Gill will make them pay as he did against Mumbai Indians. However, he was going well before Dhoni ended his innings in a flash.

Watch the video here

MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first

Meanwhile, the ongoing final has been delayed by a day. Apparently, thanks to persistent rain on May 28, the game was shifted today. At the toss that happened a while ago, Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first. He cited the wicket flat. Notably, in the IPL finals played in odd years, teams fielding first have lost every time.

CSK: 1 Ruturaj Gaikwad, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Ajinkya Rahane, 4 Moeen Ali, 5 Ambati Rayudu, 6 Ravindra Jadeja, 7 MS Dhoni (capt, wk), 8 Deepak Chahar, 9 Tushar Deshpande, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, 11 Matheesha Pathirana

Subs: Shivam Dube, Mitch Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh

GT: 1 Shubman Gill, 2 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 3 B Sai Sudharsan, 4 Hardik Pandya (capt), 5 Vijay Shankar, 6 David Miller, 7 Rashid Khan, 8 Rahul Tewatia, 9 Noor Ahmed, 10 Mohit Sharma, 11 Mohammed Shami

Subs: Josh Little, Odean Smith, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, R Sai Kishore


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID