Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

Under-19 World Cup 2024: All you need to know

Taking look at some of the key details of the Under-19 World Cup held in South Africa.

Under-19 World Cup

The next wave of talented players from 16 countries will take front stage in the 15th edition of the Under-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup, which is scheduled to start in South Africa on January 19. Over the course of 24 days, five locations in South Africa will host an overall of 41 matches. 

Some well-known cricketing nations will be competing in this tournament, including the defending champions and five-time winners India. Australia, the current holders of the Men’s Cricket World Cup will also take part. New Zealand are coming back following on from missing the competition in the West Indies in 2022.

This time around, the tournament will follow the same structure as the Under-19 Women’s World Cup 2023r. The top three teams from each of the 16 groups of four teams will advance to the Super Sixes phase. In the super sixes, each of the 12 teams are going to split amongst two groups of six. Each group’s top two teams will move on to the semifinals.

The competition won’t conclude for any of the four teams who are eliminated during the group round, though. The playoffs will determine the players’ placements from 13th to 16th by giving them valuable playing time.

Group A consists of Bangladesh, India, Ireland, as well as the USA, while Group B is made up of England, Scotland, South Africa, as well as the West Indies. Australia, Namibia, Sri Lanka, as well as Zimbabwe make up Group C, and Afghanistan, Nepal, New Zealand, and Pakistan make up Group D.

Who all have been able to make it to India’s squad for the World Cup 2024?

India defeated England during the final of the 2022 competition, which was led by Yash Dhull. With five championships, India is also the most successful team in the competition’s history. The side would be hoping to produce a similar result in this tournament as well.

India’s squad: Uday Saharan (C), Innesh Mahajan (WK), Arshin Kulkarni, Murugan Abhishek, Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Musheer Khan, Aravelly Avanish Rao (WK), Saumy Kumar Pandey (VC), and Naman Tiwari

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID
Radhika Merchant: All You Need to Know About Anant Ambani’s Fiancée Top 3 players who can replace Devon Conway in CSK for IPL 2024 Longest Sixes in cricket history. 4 Players Virat Kohli Dropped from ODI Team Top 4 bowling figures of overseas players in IPL IPL: 5 best knocks of Virat Kohli in league’s history Indian bowlers with weird bowling actions Top Indian cricketers who might be featured in IPL 2024 3 Cricket Players born on leap day 5 CSK Stars to Win Pakistan Super League (PSL) Title