Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

ACC Women’s T20 Championship 2022

UAE Win ACC Women’s T20 Championship; defeat the hosts Malaysia in the final

ACC Women's T20

Returning after a long nine-year gap, the ACC Women’s T20 Championship started with much fanfare and it has only grown from that point on. Hosted by Malaysia cricket and the Asian Cricket Council, the 10-team T20I tournament began on 17th June and has finally seen its culmination.

The UAE Women team has come out as the champions of the ACC Women’s T20 after defeating the hosts Malaysia in the final. Coming onto bat, the Malaysia team were only able to only make 100/4 in 20 overs. Wicket Keeper Wan Julia, with  a 20 off of 32 deliveries, gave a good start to Malaysia’s innings but did not get any support from the other side.

Elsa Hunter came in to bat at number three and contributed 15 off of 12 balls. Ainna Hashim remained not out at 28 off 38 along with Nur Arianna Natsya (25 off 24). The UAE bowler Indhuja Nandakumar was their best bowler, claiming bowling figures of 4-17-2. She also got help from captain Chaya Mughal and Khushi Sharma who took one wicket each.

Coming onto chase, the UAE team reached across the finishing line quite easily with the help of a solid half-century from Theertha Satish (55 off of 42). Needing just two runs in the last two overs, Khushi Sharma (13 off 22) and Samaira Dharnidharka (4 off 13) achieved this target on the fourth ball of the 19th over. Opener Esha Rohit also made 7(7) with a boundary at the start.

The UAE Women’s team remained unbeaten throughout the ACC Women’s T20 Championship. The UAE team had already won the ICC Women’s Asia Qualifier last year and now with this win, they have another feather to their crown.

UAE players stormed the outfield with UAE flags after Khushi Sharma hit the winning runs in the penultimate over. The Malaysia Women’s team has also qualified for the Asia Cup after defeating Hong Kong in the qualifier.

ACC Women’s T20 Championship Final: Malaysia vs UAE

Malaysia Women: 100/4

Ainna Hashim: 28(38), Nur Arianna Natsya: 25(24)

Aisya Eleesa: 2.4-10-1, Mas Elysa: 3-13-1

UAE Women: 101/5

Theertha Sathish: 55(42), Khushi Sharma: 13(22)

Indhuja Nandakumar: 4-17-2, Chaya Mughal: 4-14-1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in ACC Women’s T20 Championship 2022


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID