Connect with us

Indian T20 League

The Indian Cricket Board confirms the return of Home-Away format in the Indian T20 League after three years

The home-away format was last used in the Indian T20 League in 2019.

Indian T20 League
Indian T20 League (Source: IPL/BCCI)

After a three-year pause, the Indian T20 League will once again use the home-away format in the 2023 season, according to a letter from the Indian Cricket Board to all state associations.

The home-away format was last used in the tournament in 2019, after which changes had to be made due to the pandemic. Even though the Indian T20 League 2022 was entirely held in India, the season was split between four venues due to concerns about the possible spread of Covid.

The BCCI President, Sourav Ganguly, has asserted that the home-away format will be reinstated for the following edition. “The next season of men’s IPL will also go back to the home and away format with all the 10 teams playing their home matches at their designated venues,” Ganguly wrote in an email to all state associations, as reported by The Times of India.

The Women’s Indian T20 League will officially launch in 2023, according to Ganguly in his email, with the board “expecting to start the first season early next year”. The Women’s T20 Challenge has served as a mini-exhibition during the closing stages of the Men’s tournament for the past four years, but starting in 2023, women’s cricket in the nation will enter a new era.

“The BCCI is currently working on the much-awaited women’s IPL. We are expecting to start the first season early next year. More details will follow in the due course,” Ganguly wrote.

India to host New Zealand and Sri Lanka after the T20 World Cup

Additionally, it was revealed that after the T20 World Cup in 2022, India will host New Zealand and Sri Lanka. On the other hand, Indian women will play against the World Champions Australia. “The BCCI’s home international season starts from today and we have exciting cricketing action coming our way. The Indian men’s senior team will be playing against Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the home international series. The Indian women’s senior team will be playing against Australia,” Ganguly wrote.



  1. Teotib

    September 22, 2022 at 4:31 pm

  2. Marvinmeerm

    September 22, 2022 at 4:50 pm

  3. Marvinmeerm

    September 22, 2022 at 5:36 pm

  4. Jacktib

    September 22, 2022 at 6:53 pm

  5. Janetib

    September 22, 2022 at 7:18 pm

  6. Amytib

    September 23, 2022 at 2:43 pm

  7. Ashlensnma

    September 23, 2022 at 3:17 pm

    help me to write an essay
    usa essay writing services
    essays on community service

  8. Kiatib

    September 23, 2022 at 3:58 pm

  9. CharlesSlica

    September 23, 2022 at 4:37 pm

  10. SamuelPed

    September 23, 2022 at 4:44 pm

  11. Carltib

    September 23, 2022 at 5:41 pm

  12. ?????????? ???????

    September 28, 2022 at 4:40 pm

    ?????????? ??????? ???????: ?????????? —
    ???????? ??????

  13. ???????? ????? ??????? ???????

    September 28, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    ???????? ????? ??????? ??????? ????? ??????? ???????

  14. ???? ?? ????????? 2 ????? (13 ?????)

    September 29, 2022 at 11:04 pm

    ???? ?? ????????? 2 ????? (13 ?????) «???? ?? ?????????»


    October 1, 2022 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Indian T20 League