Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Rohit Sharma pens down emotional note for Mumbai fans after string of losses

The team has lost eight games and are out of the playoffs contention

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

Mumbai have lost eight games in the ongoing Indian T20 League 2022 and are crashed out of the playoffs contention. The team has been struggling in all departments of the game. Their pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has managed to pick only four wickets in eight games. This included the three-wicket haul against Rajasthan in their second game of the tournament.

Other bowlers such as Murugan Ashwin, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, etc have failed to create enough impact for the team. Talking about their batting, they have highly depended on Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma. Apart from them, skipper Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, etc. have been struggling with the bat.

Meanwhile, Mumbai skipper, Rohit Sharma took to Twitter and penned down an emotional note for the team and its fans, following the 36-run loss against Lucknow on April 24, 2022. In the note, the right-hander said that many sporting giants have gone through this phase but he loves the team. He then thanked the fans for the faith and undying loyalty for the team.

“We haven’t put our best foot forward in this tournament but that happens, many sporting giants have gone through this phase but I love this team and its environment. Also want to appreciate our well-wishers who’ve shown faith and undying loyalty to this team so far,” Rohit Sharma said in a social media post on Monday.

In the game against Lucknow, Sharma returned to form with a vital knock of 39 runs. However, he could not convert the start into a big score. The fans will hope that he returns to form before the Indian team resumes their international cricket fixtures in June.

In the month of June, India will host South Africa for the five-match T20I series. On the other hand, this is the first time since 2009 that Mumbai have been eliminated before the playoffs for the second consecutive time. In 2008 and 2009, the five-time winners couldn’t qualify for the playoffs. Last year, the team faced the similar fate as well.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID