Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Olympic medalists felicitated before the opening clash of Indian T20 League 2022


Indian T20 League 2022 has kicked off with a match between last year’s finalists Chennai and Kolkata. The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) made a wonderful gesture toward the superstars of Indian sports that won the heart of the fans. Before the beginning of the match, BCCI held a felicitation ceremony for the medalists of the Tokyo Olympics.

The athletes who were felicitated were Neeraj Chopra, Bajrang Punia, Mirabai Chanu, Lovlina Borgohain, PV Sindhu, Ravi Dahiya, and the Men’s hockey team. Gold medalist Neeraj Chopra was given a cash reward of INR 1 Cr, while silver medalists Mirabai Chanu and Ravi Dahiya were awarded INR 50 Lakhs. Bronze medalists Bajrang Punia, Lovlina Boroghain and PV Sindhu were given INR 25 Lakhs. The Men’s hockey team was awarded a total of INR 1.25 Cr.

Notably, Neeraj Chopra was only the second athlete to win a gold medal in individual sports after Abhinav Bindra. Neeraj Chopra achieved the feat in Javelin Throw. Mirabai Chanu won the silver medal in weightlifting and Ravi Dahiya achieved the feat in boxing. Bajrang Punia and Lovlina Borgohain were the bronze medalist in boxing in their respective categories. PV Sindhu finished in the third position in Women’s singles in Badminton, winning the bronze medal. The Indian Men’s Hockey team secured a position on the medals podium after defeating Germany in the third position match in the Tokyo Olympics.

Kolkata vs Chennai

The opening clash of the Indian T20 League 2022 did not live up to expectations. Chennai scored 131 runs from their 20 overs while batting first. Kolkata chased down the target with 6 wickets in hand with Rahane top-scoring for them (44).

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID