Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Twitter Reactions

‘Mast joke mara re’ – Fans react as Shubman Gill set to receive Indian Cricketer Of The Year award

The young opener has played 48 internationals in the last 12 months and has scored 2154 runs – the most by any player – at an average of 46.82.

Shubman Gill

Future star of Indian cricket Shubman Gill is set to be bestowed with the Polly Umrigar Award for best men’s cricketer. The 24-year-old will be presented with the Indian Cricket Board’s prestigious award at a ceremony to be held in Hyderabad on Tuesday, January 23. Gill was among the top performers for the nation across formats in 2023, establishing a name for himself at the highest level of the game.

The young opener has played 48 internationals in the last 12 months and has scored 2154 runs – the most by any player – at an average of 46.82. These include seven centuries in ODIs, one double century, and a maiden T20I century (126* – highest T20I score by an Indian). Former India captain Virat Kohli is the only other batter to have scored more than 2000 runs across formats last year.

It was in the 50-over format Gill excelled more. He was the only player to have scored over 1,500 runs in the format in 2023. He finished with 1,584 ODI runs from 29 matches at an incredible average of 63.36 with five centuries and nine fifties. He also played a crucial role in India’s successful journey in the 2023 Asia Cup (Champions) and ODI World Cup (Runner-Up).

The Indian Cricket Board Awards ceremony will be held for the first time since 2019 after multiple delays due to the Covid-19 pandemic. India’s premier pacer Jasprit Bumrah won the award for the best male cricketer in 2019.

Ravi Shastri to receive lifetime achievement award

Meanwhile, apart from the Polly Umrigar Award, lifetime achievement award, the best international cricketer in women’s cricket for India, best umpire and best domestic side awards are likely to be presented on Tuesday. However, the Indian Cricket Board has not released the official list of current and former players who will win the awards.

Former India captain and ex-head coach Ravi Shastri is reported to be receiving the lifetime achievement award for his fruitful long stint with Team India. Shastri, who started his career playing in the U-19, was part of India’s World Cup triumph in 1983 and played a key role in the 1985 World Championship of Cricket. He later took over as a commentator and head coach of the Indian team.

Former Indian cricketers are expected to attend the event. The India and England Test teams, currently in Hyderabad for the first Test of the upcoming five-match series, are also likely to take part in the award ceremony.

Here’s how fans reacted to Shubman Gill winning the award: 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Twitter Reactions


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID