Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID


IPL Orange Cap Winners list from 2008 to 2023

David Warner and Virat Kohli (Source - Twitter)

It’s very true that the start of the IPL has paved the way for new opportunities for cricketers in the country, particularly the batters, providing them with the freedom to play expansively, a facet not frequently witnessed in a country like India. However, at the end of the IPL final, the leading run-scorer of the tournament is awarded the prestigious Orange Cap, which has always played a crucial role in guiding their side to the playoffs regardless of the title wins in the tournament.

Notably, the tournament for the leading run-scorer title in the tournament is always an intense battle, with batters striving to surpass each other and set monumental records in the whole marquee event. However, the 16th edition of the tournament has witnessed a spirited contest among batters, as the ownership of the Orange Cap has frequently changed hands in this marquee event.

Meanwhile, India’s star batter Shubman Gill from the Gujarat Titans clinched the title of leading run scorer in the tournament, accumulating a total of 890 runs during the 2023 edition of the marquee event. Although he came close to breaking Virat Kohli’s record of 973 runs in a single IPL season in 2016, he ultimately fell short. However, the young opener played a crucial role in guiding his side to the finals before getting defeated by CSK in the last two balls of the final game.

Who has won the maximum orange cap in IPL history?

Meanwhile, South African star batter Faf du Plessis, leading Royal Challengers Bangalore, delivered an outstanding batting performance in the 2023 IPL season, amassing an impressive 730 runs in 14 matches and securing the second position in the run-scorer standings. Chennai Super Kings’ batter, Devon Conway, claimed the third spot with 672 runs. Virat Kohli and Yashasvi Jaiswal secured the fourth and fifth positions, notching up 639 and 625 runs, respectively.

Australia’s batter Shaun Marsh holds the distinction of being the only uncapped player to secure the IPL Orange Cap in 2008 at the age of 24. Interestingly, the Lucknow Super Giants, introduced in 2022, remain the only franchise yet to claim an IPL orange cap.

Meanwhile, Australia’s batter, David Warner, has won the orange cap three times, while Chris Gayle has won the orange cap twice in IPL history.

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Analysis


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID