Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

SA vs IND: Indian Cricket Board names squad for much-awaited multi-format tour

Team India and South Africa will play a multi-format tour with 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is and 2 Tests

Team India

To the delight of cricket fans worldwide, India is gearing up for a thrilling series against South Africa, featuring eight international matches across various formats, set to commence next month. The tour kicks off with a three-match T20I series, followed by an equal number of ODIs, and culminating with two Test matches.

Despite numerous endeavours, India has yet to secure a Test series victory in the Rainbow Nation. As discussions intensify regarding India’s squad for this eagerly anticipated tour, let’s delve into the potential selections for the red-ball leg.

The squad for the much-awaited series was finally released following a lot of drama around the captaincy picks. The final squads have now been confirmed and the team is set to see new faces in new responsibilities. Stalwarts Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will take a break from the white-ball leg of the tour. Moreover, Mohammed Shami, India’s best bowler from the recently concluded ODI World Cup, remains subject to availability following injury scares.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli on break from white ball cricket

The Indian Cricket Board clarified in a tweet, “Mr Rohit Sharma and Mr Virat Kohli had requested the Board for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour. Mr Mohd. Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment and his availability is subject to fitness.”

India’s squad for 3 T20Is against South Africa:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 2 Tests against South Africa:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs vs South Africa:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID