Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

‘Greatest last over batter’ – Twitter on fire after MS Dhoni steals last over win for Chennai

Chennai picked up their second win of the Indian T20 League

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

Mumbai and Chennai locked horns in the 33rd game of the Indian T20 League 2022 at the D.Y. Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Both teams were languishing at the bottom of the points table. The five-time winners had lost all of their six games while the defending champions had only one win, against Bangalore heading into the match. Meanwhile, the Yellow Brigade won the toss and elected to bowl first. The decision proved right after Mukesh Choudhary dismissed Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan in the first over.

Opposition skipper Rohit Sharma (0) was caught by Mitchell Santner on the second ball of the over. On the fifth ball, Ishan Kishan (0) was clean bowled by a yorker. In form Dewald Brevis (4) couldn’t do much as he became the third victim of Choudhary. Suryakumar Yadav (32) was looking in good form but his innings was cut short by Santner. At 47/4, Mumbai were staring down a low total.

Debutant Hrithik Shokeen (25) and Tilak Varma stitched a partnership of 38 runs before the former was caught by Robin Uthappa off Dwayne Bravo. Three over later, Kieron Pollard (14) was caught by Shivam Dube off Maheesh Theekshana. An unbeaten half-century from Varma (51*) and a cameo from Jaydev Unadkat (19*) ensured the team reached a total of 155/7.

In reply, the four-time winners lost the wicket of Ruturaj Gaikwad (0) on the first ball of the innings to Daniel Sams. Santner (11), who was sent as a pinch hitter, became the second victim of Sams. At 16/2, Robin Uthappa (30) and Ambati Rayudu stitched a partnership of 50 runs before the former was caught by Brevis off Unadkat. Three overs later, Shivam Dube (13) became the third victim of Sams. Rayudu (40) looked steady before thowing his wicket to Sams.

Sams got his fourth after taking the wicket of opposition skipper Ravindra Jadeja (3). The likes of Dwaine Pretorius (22) and MS Dhoni took the team close before the former was trapped lbw by Unadkat with the score reading 139/7 in 19.1 overs. The team needed 17 off five balls before Dhoni turned back the clock and hit a six and two boundaries in final four balls to seal the game by three wickets.

This is how Twitter reacted





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID