Connect with us

Cricket News

‘Gobar Azam ko captain kisne bana diya’ – Fans troll Babar Azam as he’s named as the captain of ODI team of the year

Only two Indians could make it to the team.

Babar Azam

The Apex Cricket Body announced the ODI team of the year 2022 on Tuesday. Only two Indians could find a place in the team of the year but there was no place for big names such as Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Among Indian batters, only Shreyas Iyer could make it to the eleven while Mohammed Siraj was the only inclusion when it comes to Indian bowlers. Pakistan captain Babar Azam was named the skipper of the team by Apex Cricket Body.

Babar, who has been in the spotlight over Pakistan’s consistent poor performances at home, finished last year with 679 runs at a stunning average of 84.87. The team further includes players like Australia’s Travis Head, West Indies’ Shai Hope, India’s Shreyas Iyer and New Zealand’s Tom Latham.

Iyer was India’s top-scoring batter in the format last year, who scored 724 runs at an average of 55.69 in 17 games. Zimbabwe’s marquee all-rounder Sikandar Raza who had a remarkable 2022 which fetched him an Indian T20 League contract also found a place in the eleven. Raza aggregated 645 runs at an average of 49.61 and a strike rate of 87.16, including two fifties and three centuries.

Raza also had a great year with the ball, scalping eight wickets economy of around 5 per over. Further in the list came Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz who was one of the most consistent all-rounders in ODI cricket last year. He was the architect of Bangladesh’s second consecutive ODI series win at home against India.

Mehidy Hassan rewarded for his heroics against India

He picked up a total of 24 wickets in 15 games for the Bangla Tigers at an average of 28.20 with a best performance being 4/29. With the bat, Mehidy scored 330 runs at a stunning average of 66, with one century and one fifty.

West Indies’ Alzarri Joseph, India’s Mohammed Siraj, New Zealand’s Trent Boult and Australia’s Adam Zampa completed the list. Siraj played 15 matches and picked up 24 wickets in 2022 at an economy of 4.62.

ODI Team of the Year 2022: Babar Azam, Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham, Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa

Meanwhile, Twitter was abuzz with reactions on the ODI team of the year. Here are some of the Tweets:

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. ????????????

    January 24, 2023 at 6:41 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News