Connect with us

Twitter Reactions

‘Con-stumping’- Twitter furious as Niroshan Dickwella stumps Imam-ul-Haq while he was marking his guard

Pakistan need 195 runs to win the Test with eight wickets in hand.

Niroshan Dickwella

Twitter was engulfed in another debate after an interesting dismissal from Sri Lanka- Pakistan Test match. The incident in question took place in the 29th over of Pakistan’s second innings when the Pakistan batter Imam-ul-Haq was stumped by Niroshan Dickwella off a Ramesh Mendis delivery.

While playing Mendis’ fifth ball, the left-hander, Imam tried to defend a rising off spinning ball on the back foot. He could not connect the ball and it was safely collected by the wicketkeeper Dickwella.

Dickwella’s next move is where this uninteresting delivery turned on its head. After playing the shot, Imam thought the ball to be complete and started getting ready for the next delivery. He started to mark his guard and in doing so he shifted his weight on the front foot and then on the back. Dickwella however was waiting eagle-eyed for Imam to do this and removed the bails at the exact same time when Imam shifted his body weight off of his left leg.

The Sri Lankan players appealed and the decision was sent upstairs to the third umpire. The fraction of a second clip from when Imam was stumped was played back where his foot was raised and he was given out by the third umpire.

The stumping decision, although technically correct, has caused quite a big discussion on social media. Many think that the ball was already dead when Dickwella collected it and tried to fake stump him once. Many however also this that in a sport like cricket which is already stacked in favour of batters, this decision should stand.

Talking of the match, Pakistan are currently playing at 142/2 with Babar Azam (24) and Abdullah Shafique (74) on the crease. The visiting team need 200 runs with eight wickets at hand.

Sri Lanka batter Dinesh Chandimal who is in a great reign of form came up with a score of 76 and 94* in the first two innings. Pakistan captain Babar Azam had come up with a gritty century in the first innings earlier.

Let’s look at some of the tweets that show the frenzy that Imam-ul-Haq’s stumping has created.

 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Twitter Reactions

OUR SPONSORSHIPS