Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

Complete list of injured players and their replacements in Indian T20 League 2022

These players were either injured or pulled out of the league citing bio-bubble fatigue

Matheesha Pathirana
Matheesha Pathirana (Image Credit : Twitter)

Defending champions Chennai suffered a massive blow when Adam Milne was ruled out of the Indian T20 League. Milne picked a hamstring injury ahead of the game against Lucknow. Later, Chennai roped in Matheesha Pathirana as the replacement for Adam Milne. However, Milne is not the first player to be ruled out of the tournament.

One month ahead of the season, England and Gujarat opening batter Alex Hales pulled out of the tournament citing bio-bubble fatigue. Roy had played in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) earlier that month. The league was played under strict bio-security protocols. Another player from England, Alex Hakes, who played in the PSL, also pulled out citing the same reasons.

Roy and Hales were supposed to play for Gujarat and Kolkata respectively. They were replaced by Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Aaron Finch respectively.  While Gurbaz hasn’t got the opportunity to play for his team, Finch was inducted soon after he became available to play. Mark Wood, who was supposed to play for Lucknow, also pulled out after sustaining an elbow injury last month during a three-match Test series against the West Indies.

He was replaced by the 2018 Purple Cap winner, Andrew Tye. On the other hand, Lunvith Sisodia, who was supposed to play for Bangalore, was ruled out for the remainder of the season due to an injury. He was replaced by Rajat Patidar, who went unsold in the mega auction earlier this year. Notably, Patidar played a few games for the team last season.

From the Rajasthan team, pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile was ruled out for the remaining season after sustaining a knee injury during a game against Hyderabad. Rasikh Dar, who made his comeback to the league after playing in 2019, was also ruled out and was replaced by Harshit Rana in the Kolkata set up. Million Dollar boy, Deepak Chahar also gave Chennai a massive setback after he was ruled out of the tournament due to a back injury.

Here’s a complete list of the replacement players so far in Indian T20 League 2022:

FranchiseInjured/replaced playerReplacement player
GujaratJason RoyRahmanullah Gurbaz
KolkataAlex HalesAaron Finch
KolkataRasik DarHarshit Rana
LucknowMark WoodAndrew Tye
BangaloreLuvnith SisodiaRajat Patidar
RajasthanNathan Coulter-Nile–
ChennaiDeepak Chahar–
ChennaiAdam MilneMatheesha Pathirana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID