Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

‘Tough one to digest’- Gujarat survive Russell scare to hand Kolkata fourth consecutive loss

For the first time in the tournament, a team decided to bat first after winning the toss.

Gujarat Titans
Gujarat Titans (Image Credit : BCCI/IPL)

Gujarat and Kolkata locked horns in the 35th game of the ongoing Indian T20 League 2022 at the D.Y. Patil Stadium in Mumbai. For the first time in the season, a team elected to bat first after winning the toss. The Hardik Pandya-led side won the toss and elected to bat first citing hot weather and wanting to preserve their energy. Meanwhile, they lost their opener Shubman Gill (7) early in the innings.

In the first ball of the second over, Gill was caught down the leg-side by wicket-keeper Sam Billings off Tim Southee’s bowling. At this stage, Gujarat’s skipper Hardik Pandya came out to bat at three. It is to be noted that he missed out on the last game against Chennai due to a groin injury. Meanwhile, the skipper and Wriddhiman Saha (25) stitched a partnership of 75 runs

The latter was caught at backward point by Venkatesh Iyer with the score reading 83/2 in 10.3 overs. In came the last hero from the last match, David Miller. The duo added another 50 runs for the team in 5.5 overs. Miller (27) was outfoxed by an off-cutter from Shivam Mavi and was caught safely by Yadav. Pandya (67) followed in the next over as he was caught by Rinku Singh off Southee’s bowling. This wicket was the turning point for the team in the next few overs.

From 138/4 in 17.2 overs, the team was restricted to 156/9 at the end of the innings. Andre Rusell picked a four-wicket haul in the last over of the innings. In reply, the Men in Purple and Gold had a forgettable start to their innings. Sam Billings tried to play a shot against Mohammed Shami but was caught by Saha in the first over.

Two overs later, Shami removed Sunil Narine (5) with another short ball as the latter was caught at short fine by Lockie Ferguson. In the fifth over, Saha took his second catch of the game in the form of Nitish Rana (2). Right after the powerplay, skipper Shreyas Iyer (12) was also caught by Saha. It was Yash Dayal who dismissed him. At 34/4, Rinku Singh (35) and Venkatesh Iyer stitched a partnership of 45 runs before the former was caught by Saha off Dayal.

The all-rounder followed in the next over as he was caught off Rashid Khan’s bowling. Two overs later, Khan deceived Shivam Mavi (2) with a googly. At 108/7, the likes of Umesh Yadav and Andre Russell (48) took the team close before the latter was dismissed by Alzarri Joseph with the team needing 12 runs off four balls. The wicket proved costly for the team as they then lost the game by eight runs.

This is how Twitter reacted




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID