Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

Cricket News

‘Bahot politics hai team selection mein’ – Fans react as Yuzvendra Chahal shares cryptic message after his snub from five-match T20I series against Australia

Suryakumar Yadav will assume the role of captain, with Shreyas Iyer serving as the vice-captain in the final two T20Is

Yuzvendra Chahal not selected

Despite his strong performances for India, Yuzvendra Chahal was left out of the ODI World Cup 2023 squad. Following the ODI World Cup’s conclusion, the India Cricket Board selectors revealed the squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia, where Chahal once again did not secure a spot in the 15-man squad. Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, and Ravi Bishnoi were chosen from the spin department, leaving Chahal waiting for his chance.

Remarkably, Chahal holds the title of India’s top wicket-taker in T20Is, amassing 96 wickets in 80 matches and establishing himself as a decisive match-winner at 33. His recent form in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for Haryana was noteworthy, securing nine wickets in the last four matches. Despite these achievements, the India Cricket Board selectors opted for players who performed well in the Asian Games for the national team.

However, the spinner didn’t take his exclusion from the T20I squad lightly. Following the squad’s announcement for the T20I series starting on November 23 in Visakhapatnam, he responded with a smile on X (formerly Twitter) without expressing much. Let us look at how Twitter has reacted to this omission of Yuzi Chahal:


Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Indian side

Conversely, several senior cricketers, including captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and others, have been rested for the series. This decision precedes a comprehensive series against South Africa away from home. With Rohit absent from the T20I squad, Hardik Pandya was set to lead the team. However, the all-rounder is recovering from an ankle injury sustained during the ODI World Cup, making him unavailable for the squad.

In Rohit Sharma’s absence, Suryakumar Yadav will assume the role of captain, with Shreyas Iyer serving as the vice-captain in the final two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru. The series is anticipated to have VVS Laxman as the head coach.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID